Skip to Main Content

Film Studies: Books

A short guide to Bodleian Libraries' resources for Film Studies
Subjects: English, Film Studies

Film studies book collections

Film Studies is a growing discipline in Oxford, with film collections currently housed across a number of different libraries in the Humanities, Area Studies and Social Sciences. The film collections are primarily organised by country. This page outlines where to find Film Studies book collections; see the Films page for information about locating films.

Use SOLO, the library catalogue which covers the majority of the Library collections of the University of Oxford, to search our collections for films, books, journals and other resources. Help with using SOLO to find film-related material is available in the Using SOLO to Find Film Studies Material guide.


Jean Painlevé, French scientist and filmmaker, 1902-1989
Photograph © Les Documents
Cinématographiques 2006

eBooks

There are many full-text e-books on Film Studies available via a number of e-book platforms, including Bloomsbury, EBL, Ebrary, EBSCOhost, University Press Scholarship Online and ACLS Humanities e-Books. All of the Bodleian Libraries' e-books are catalogued on SOLO, where you can search for them in the usual ways. If you want to use SOLO to find only e-versions of texts, limit your search to 'Online Resources'. The e-books LibGuide gives help on finding and using e-books.

Main book collections

The English Faculty Library has books on film theory and on English-language film, focusing mainly on British and American cinema. The Film Studies collection is located on the ground floor of the library, and most of the relevant material is within the shelfmark range PN1990 to PN1998. 

The Film Studies collection at the Taylor Institution Library focuses on European cinema, film theory and film aesthetics. The Film Studies collection is housed on first floor of the Taylor Library Teaching Collection (also shelfmark range PN1990 to PN1998). 

The Bodleian Library is a legal deposit library and therefore entitled to UK and Irish books and journals on all subjects including Film Studies. There is a small open-shelf collection of film books and journals in the Upper Camera Reading Room, but the majority of books are held in the bookstacks and can be requested using the automated stack request system via SOLO.

Additional book collections

The Bodleian Japanese Library holds a small collection of books on Japanese cinema.

The Bodleian K B Chen China Centre Library has a growing collection of books on Chinese film which may be borrowed.

There is a growing collection of books and historical journals on Egyptian cinema at the Middle East Centre Library, St Antony's College.

A specialist collection of books on Indian film, both Bollywood and art-house (previously located in the Indian Institute Reading Room in the New Bodleian), is currently accommodated in the Bodleian Library bookstack, and items can be ordered via the stack request system on SOLO.

Collection Policy for Film Studies