Alternative names: ABI Inform Global ; ABI Global Package
Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal.
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Alternative nams: ABI Inform Trade and Industry ; ABI Trade & Industry
Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals and newsletters.
Search more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Partnered directly with entrepreneur support programs to collect data and track venture progress over time. This data is used to track and validate program impact, produce sector-level research and release anonymized data for further studies.
A peer group for women entrepreneurs; the website offers an online business community where within the private member area, you can create business connections, partnerships and gain peer group support.
The Indus Entrepreneurs (TiE), founded in 1992 in Silicon Valley, aims to foster entrepreneurship through mentoring, networking, education, funding and incubation. With a focus of giving back to the community, Tie’s focus is on generating and nurturing the next generation of entrepreneurs.
The Start Up Loans scheme has had a transformative impact on the lives of thousands of individuals, our local communities and the nation as a whole. For every £1 invested in the scheme, £3.30 of value is delivered back into the UK economy.
The Duke Innovation and Entrepreneurship Initiative aims to put ideas into action. We leverage the innovations that grow here at the university level to make tangible, perceptible change through entrepreneurship.
Created by entrepreneurs is an application-only resource that offers startups considerable support and resources. For marketing, YEC offers a free website, numerous opportunities for media exposure, tools for brand-building and invitations to special events and conferences.
Get connected to the resources, people and opportunities you need to start & grow a remarkable business. Events are aimed at under 35s and allow you to meet like-minded peers in a non-intimidating environment.
The two day event attracts more than 25,000 businesses who attend with the primary agenda of improving and expanding their business, and to anybody who has attended the show it will come as no surprise that it's now the fastest growing business show in Europe.
Prolific North Live is the biggest marketing expo outside London that covers the broader media and marketing communities. Now known as Marketing Show North, the scope and breadth of the expo will be even more concentrated with a greater focus on marketing, sales and customer engagement.
The Dynamics of Entrepreneurship by Maria MinnitiLearning about entrepreneurship has major implications for the way we understand economic change and progress. At a time when governments all over the world look to entrepreneurship as a way to increase the wealth and well-being of their countries, The Dynamics of Entrepreneurship examines thecauses of differences in entrepreneurial propensity between individuals, the factors that explain variations in the type and quantity of entrepreneurship at the aggregate level, and the macroeconomic implications of entrepreneurship. Using Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) data, the book brings together contributions from leading scholars to provide a comprehensive overview of current scholarship on entrepreneurial activity. Discussed topics include entrepreneurial motivation, gender and migration, entrepreneurial financing,urban entrepreneurship, growth-oriented entrepreneurship, economic growth, and regional entrepreneurship policies. The book concludes by summarizing its contribution to existing literature, with particular attention paid to the policy implications and the ongoing debate on entrepreneurship.
Publication Date: 2013-03-22
The Entrepreneur by Sophie Boutillier; Dimitri UzunidisThis book presents the economic theories with regards to the entrepreneur of yesterday and those of more recent years, on which issue research has been developing exponentially since the last third of the 20th Century. Much of this book will be devoted to contemporary theories. This presentation of economic theories of the entrepreneur leads us to wonder about the structural development of the free enterprise system in the short and the long term. The proliferation of entrepreneurial initiatives leads in effect to a profound transformation of modes of production and work, for example under the current phenomenon of uberization economy.
Social Entrepreneurship by Alex Nicholls (Editor)'Social Entrepreneurship' is a term that has come to be applied to the activities of grass-roots activists, NGOs, policy makers, international institutions, and corporations, amongst others, which address a range of social issues in innovative and creative ways.Themed around the emerging agendas for developing new, sustainable models of social sector excellence and systemic impact, Social Entrepreneurship offers, for the first time, a wide-ranging, internationally-focused selection of cutting-edge work from leading academics, policy makers, and practitioners. Together they seek to clarify some of the ambiguity around this term, describe a range of social entrepreneurship projects, and establish a clear set of frameworks with which to understand it.Included in the volume are contributions from Muhammad Yunus, winner of the 2006 Nobel Peace Prize and the father of microfinance, Geoff Mulgan, former head of the British prime minister's policy unit, and Bill Drayton, founder of the Ashoka network of social entrepreneurs. Jeff Skoll, founder of the Skoll Foundation, and first president of eBay, provides a preface. Alex Nicholls provides a substantial new preface to this paperback edition, reflecting on the latest developments in the study andpractice of social entrepreneurship.
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Think Agile by Taffy WilliamsIn today's constantly changing business environment, the question is not if any unexpected obstacles will try to derail your promising company, but when will they rear their ugly heads. Your biggest investor bails on you, having been lured away to the next new sure thing instead. A similar product is unveiled by a more established company. A key employee jumps ship to work for a competitor. When these obstacles--yes, plural --arrive, will you be able to shift strategies, products, and services on a time, if necessary? Unfortunately, many entrepreneurs lock themselves into one strategy, one product, one distribution method, and one way of thinking about their business. In doing so, they limit their potential and lower their chances of capitalizing on economic, industry, or market changes. Think Agile wants to help the entrepreneur both assess their level of flexibility and learn to be open-minded and option-oriented in key areas such as: - Funding sources- Launch timetables- Planning- Repurposing everything from products to people to names- And much moreFeaturing real-life case studies and invaluable tools, Think Agile is the indispensable guide every entrepreneur must have in order to self-evaluate and develop the undeniably essential skill of agility--the secret to surviving whatever tomorrow brings
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Trailblazing in Entrepreneurship by Dean Shepherd; Holger PatzeltIn this book, the authors present a challenge for future research to build a stronger, more complete understanding of entrepreneurial phenomena. They argue that this more complete picture of entrepreneurial phenomena will likely come from scholars who undertake at least some trailblazing projects; from scholars who broaden the range of research questions, the potential outcomes of entrepreneurial action, and the selection and combination of research methods; and from researchers who avoid the endless debates about the margins of the field and its sub-fields or about whether one theoretical or philosophical lens is superior to another. This book offers suggestions for future research through a variety of topics including prosocial action, innovation, family business, sustainability and development, and the financial, social, and psychological costs of failure. It promises to make an important contribution to the development of the field and help academics, organizations, and society make useful contributions to the generation of entrepreneurial research.
Publication Date: 2017-02-03
Pivot by Remy Arteaga; Joanne HylandA proven approach to achieving entrepreneurial success in new corporate ventures and startups Every day, business and corporate startups take action based on assumptions. Yet these assumptions are based largely on guesswork that leads to everything from costly mistakes to the failure of ventures. Fortunately, there are ways to overcome these issues and excel in your business endeavors--and this book will show you how. Engaging and informative, Pivot provides entrepreneurs with practical guidance for achieving success in corporate ventures as well as new startups. Based on more than fifteen years of academic research and many more years of experience in business and corporate startups, this book skillfully addresses topics ranging from resources and organizational uncertainties to the scope and scale of new business opportunities. Reveals how to successfully conceptualize new business opportunities, pivot as required to experiment with these opportunities, and accelerate to the marketplace Captures the capabilities needed to quickly build a business by understanding and systematically reducing uncertainties from market landscape and technology to talent and organizational positioning The digital component of this book includes a world-class strategic innovation methodology that is in demand from corporations worldwide Written with today's serious entrepreneur in mind, Pivot will provide you with the tools you'll need to get ahead of the competition and achieve consistent success.
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
The Lean Entrepreneur by Brant Cooper; Patrick Vlaskovits; Eric RiesLeverage the framework of visionaries to innovate, disrupt, and ultimately succeed as an entrepreneur The Lean Entrepreneur, Second Edition banishes the "Myth of the Visionary" and shows you how you can implement proven, actionable techniques to create products and disrupt existing markets on your way to entrepreneurial success. The follow-up to the New York Times bestseller, this great guide combines the concepts of customer insight, rapid experimentation, and actionable data from the Lean Startup methodology to allow individuals, teams, or even entire companies to solve problems, create value, and ramp up their vision quickly and efficiently. The belief that innovative outliers like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates have some super-human ability to envision the future and build innovative products to meet needs that have yet to arise is a fallacy that too many fall prey to. This 'Myth of the Visionary' does nothing but get in the way of talented managers, investors, innovators, and entrepreneurs. Taking a proven, measured approach, The Lean Entrepreneur will have you engaging customers, reducing time to market and budgets, and stressing your organization's focus on the power of loyal customers to build powerhouse new products and companies. This guide will show you how to: Apply actionable tips and tricks from successful lean entrepreneurs with proven track records Leverage the Innovation Spectrum to disrupt markets and create altogether new markets Use minimum viable products to drive strategy and conduct efficient market testing Quickly develop cross-functional innovation teams to overcome typical startup roadblocks The Lean Entrepreneur is your complete guide to getting your startup moving in the right direction quickly and hyper-efficiently.
Publication Date: 2016-02-19
Business Model Generation by Alexander Osterwalder; Yves PigneurBusiness Model Generation is a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers striving to defy outmoded business models and design tomorrow's enterprises. If your organization needs to adapt to harsh new realities, but you don't yet have a strategy that will get you out in front of your competitors, you need Business Model Generation. Co-created by 470 "Business Model Canvas" practitioners from 45 countries, the book features a beautiful, highly visual, 4-color design that takes powerful strategic ideas and tools, and makes them easy to implement in your organization. It explains the most common Business Model patterns, based on concepts from leading business thinkers, and helps you reinterpret them for your own context. You will learn how to systematically understand, design, and implement a game-changing business model--or analyze and renovate an old one. Along the way, you'll understand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition. Business Model Generation features practical innovation techniques used today by leading consultants and companies worldwide, including 3M, Ericsson, Capgemini, Deloitte, and others. Designed for doers, it is for those ready to abandon outmoded thinking and embrace new models of value creation: for executives, consultants, entrepreneurs, and leaders of all organizations. If you're ready to change the rules, you belong to "the business model generation!"
Provides access to over 40 entrepreneurship focused e-books.
Consists of 850+ ebooks covering 30 categories of business and management including business analytics, business ethics, entrepreneurship, financial management, strategic management, and many more. The collection provides access to a varied selection of business books dated between 2008 to current.
Books available at the Sainsbury Library
The Entrepreneurial Engineer by Michael B. Timmons; Rhett L. Weiss; John R. Callister; Daniel P. Loucks; James E. TimmonsThe authors, educators and successful entrepreneurs, wrote this textbook with the goal of maximizing your chance of entrepreneurial success. It is designed to encourage those who want to start a business and those who have already begun. It includes guidance, instruction, and practical lessons for the prospective entrepreneur. The book focuses on early stage financing of a startup company, beginning with an emphasis on constructing an effective business plan, including writing techniques to help convey your message, and preparing solid financial statements. This "why" and "how" of writing a business plan is followed by recommendations on raising outside capital. Important topics include developing your marketing strategy, recruiting and managing creatives and managers, and retaining effective employees. Legal structures, negotiation strategies, and economic evaluation of opportunities are also discussed. The book concludes with a chapter on project management. The book includes many engineering economy topics, sufficient for those who will be taking the FE Exam.
Publication Date: 2013-10-21
The Execution Factor : The One Skill that Drives Success by Kim PerellThe Execution Factor offers a straightforward approach to success ― deliberately designed in a way that anyone can master. Perell flips the notion on its head that success is all about having a great idea, an advanced degree or a high IQ. Because people around the world have achieved their dreams without any of those things. Perell believes the ability to execute is the difference between success and failure.
Publication Date: 2018
The Hard Thing about Hard Things by Ben HorowitzWhile many people talk about how great it is to start a business, very few are honest about how difficult it is to run one. Ben Horowitz analyzes the problems that confront leaders every day, sharing the insights he's gained developing, managing, selling, buying, investing in, and supervising technology companies. Filled with his trademark humor and straight talk, this book is invaluable for veteran entrepreneurs as well as those aspiring to their own new ventures.
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
The Lean Startup : how constant innovation creates radically successful businesses by Eric RiesMost new businesses fail. But most of those failures are preventable.
The Lean Startup is a new approach to business that's being adopted around the world. It is changing the way companies are built and new products are launched.
The Lean Startup is about learning what your customers really want. It's about testing your vision continuously, adapting and adjusting before it's too late.
Now is the time to think Lean.
Publication Date: 6th October 2011
Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm GladwellWhy do some people achieve so much more than others? Can they lie so far out of the ordinary? Malcolm Gladwell looks at everyone from rock stars to scientific geniuses to show that the story of success is far more surprising, and inspiring, than we ever imagined.
Publication Date: 2008
Purple cow : Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable by Seth GodinWhat do Apple, Starbucks, Dyson and Pret a Manger have in common? How do they achieve spectacular growth, leaving behind former tried-and-true brands to gasp their last? The old checklist of P's used by marketers - Pricing, Promotion, Publicity - aren't working anymore. It's time to add a new P - the Purple Cow. In his new bestseller, Seth Godin urges you to put a Purple Cow into everything you build, and everything you do, to create something truly noticeable.
Publication Date: 2004
Social Entrepreneurs by Ryszard Praszkier; Andrzej NowakThis book details how social entrepreneurship can creatively solve pressing and seemingly insurmountable social problems. In-depth case studies from multiple disciplines and from around the globe document how social entrepreneurs foster bottom-up change that empowers people and societies. This book is valuable to undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate students, while remaining accessible to non-academic readers due to its clear language and illustrative case studies.
This podcast, created by Kathryn Bryant and Julian Illman, provides practical ways to improve your business. It takes on a more humanistic approach and discusses topics such as feelings, managing your mind and psychology. It focuses on you as a person and how this affects your company, colleagues or employees. It’s about taking ownership for your actions and unconscious mindsets, and it encourages mindfulness.
The Driven Entrepreneur Podcast hosted by Matt Brauning talks with visionaries, trailblazers, and successful entrepreneurs every single week. They discuss their origin stories and talk about the motivations that shaped them in life.
Hosted by entrepreneur, CEO, investor, vlogger, and public speaker Gary Vaynerchuk, this podcast has a mix of #AskGaryVee show episodes, keynote speeches on marketing and business, segments from the DAILYVEE video series, interviews and fireside chats.
Guy Raz dives into the stories behind some of the world's best known companies. How I Built This weaves a narrative journey about innovators, entrepreneurs and idealists - and the movements they built.
This podcast is taken from the perspective of an entrepreneur in the 21st century. Created by Chris Ducker, an author, public speaker, business coach and blogger. This podcast provides you with his experience and advice, with guest speakers and experts in their individual fields providing input.
Alison Edgar is one of the UK's Top 10 Business Advisers, working with some of Britain's most promising entrepreneurs. Alison works with start-ups, micros, owner manages businesses and sales teams to help them transform their sales and increase revenue.
Follow Entrepreneur Handbook to discover everything you need to know to start, manage and grow a successful business. With in-depth guides for aspiring and established entrepreneurs on topics including leadership, finance, marketing, technology, human resources, operations and more.
OnStartups is a site that's devoted solely to entrepreneurs. The site was created and is still run by Dharmesh Shahm, the CTO of HubSpot. OnStartups is about quality not quantity, so you'll notice fewer updates than other blogs on this list.
Author Tim Ferriss's teaches and inspires you to live life to its fullest. His ongoing "muse" series showcases entrepreneurs that have started a side-business that generates at least $1,000 extra income a month.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout