Skip to Main Content

English Language and Literature: Journals

Finding journals

If you are looking for a particular journal title, you can search for it directly via SOLO. SOLO holds details of all journals, both print and electronic. Use the Advanced Search option and choose 'Journals' from the 'Resource Type' menu to refine your search.

You can also refine your results to show only print or electronic versions.

Alternatively, you can search for online journals directly via our E-journals A-Z listing. Please be aware that online access might only be available for selected years.

See below for further details of collections of physical journals and e-journals.

Physical journals

Electronic journals (e-journals)

Finding journal articles

You can search for journal articles via SOLO, if you use the 'Search Everything' option. You can refine your search results to articles only.

If you're interested in searching for articles on a particular topic, it's best to use a bibliographic database like the MLA International Bibliography or ABELL - see the Bibliographic Databases page of this guide for more information.

Journal articles via inter-library loans

If you are looking for a particular journal article which is not in the Bodleian Libraries, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Historical periodicals and newspapers

See below for collections of historic newspapers and periodicals. Individual titles can also be found via SOLO.

For more newspapers, see the Newspapers category of Databases A-Z, or search SOLO for individual titles

Browzine

BrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards.

For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide:

Tables of contents and alerts