Skip to Main Content

English at Oxford: Finding ebooks & other online resources

Find E-Books & Other Online Resources

Finding ebooks and other online resources

Here are our Top 10 ways to find digital resources and ebooks. Please contact library staff with any questions, we’re here to help you.

You can contact us via: efl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk / Twitter @EFLOxford / Live Chat (from front page of SOLO) for general enquiries. Staffed 9am-7pm Monday to Friday and 10am-7pm on weekends

1. SOLO has 118,000 ejournals and 1.49 million ebooks available for use 24/7. 

To find ebooks by or about a particular author on SOLO (and excluding electronic articles, book reviews etc.), limit your search to ‘Oxford Collections’ (instead of ‘Search Everything’), and once you’ve done your search, use the filters in the left-hand column to show only Online Resources.

2. For electronic journal articles, use bibliographical databases such as the MLA International Bibliography or ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature). Find these databases on the Databases A-Z platform.

You can also try ‘Search Everything’ on SOLO to find e-articles. Use the ‘Resource Type’ filter on the left-hand side of your search results to filter to articles.

3. The Databases A-Z platform links to the Libraries’ major e-resources, including electronic collections of archival materials (eg British Literary Manuscripts Online, Eighteenth Century Drama, Shakespeare in Performance, and much more), and bibliographic databases as mentioned above. You can browse Databases A-Z by subject, eg English, Biographical Resources, Newspapers, etc. 

 

4. The English LibGuide links to several subject-specific guides which signpost to online resources useful for particular papers. Find the full list of subject-specific guides here.

 

5. Search the Internet Archive for digitised largely 19th-century publications. Google Books or Project Gutenberg may also help.

6. Details of e-books and other e-resources which publishers have made temporarily available can be found here: https://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/e-books/covid-19

Currently we also have two large EBA (Evidence Based Acquisition) e-book packages from Cambridge University Press (over 21,000 ebooks in Humanities and over 15,000 in Sciences and Social Sciences, until 30 May 2021) and De Gruyter and publishing partners (over 72,000 ebooks in Humanities and the Social Sciences, until 6 September 2021).

These e-books are all available via SOLO

7. If you can’t find a book available as an e-book, then we may be able to purchase one, if it’s available – you can make requests via the EFL’s book recommendation form

 

8. For online performances of Shakespeare plays, try Box of Broadcasts which you can also access via the Databases A-Z platform. It’s an archive of off-air recordings from television and radio, and includes plenty of films of Shakespeare plays. You can also access recordings of live Shakespeare performances from the Globe, the RSC and more, via the Drama Online resource on Databases A-Z (individual Drama Online recordings can also be found via SOLO – restrict your search to Audio Visual). 

9. Digital Bodleian https://digital.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/ with over 900,000 images of c 16,000 archival and rare books items.