Skip to Main Content

English Language and Literature: Bibliographic Databases

Introduction

Bibliographic databases offer focussed searching for content on a particular topic, allowing the discovery of relevant journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more. Some bibliographic databases will provide full-text access to resources, while others may provide only bibliographic details, or a combination of both. Oxford's subscription databases can be accessed through SOLO or Databases A-Z

You can browse the Databases A-Z platform by subject using the dropdown menu - eg browse for English - Bibliographic Databases. Some of the key databases are also listed below.

Literature Online

Screenshot of the homepage for Literature Online. The image is clickable and will redirect to the homepage.

Subject areas covered by ABELL include:

  • English language – including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics and dialectology
  • English literature – including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors
  • bibliography – including manuscript studies, textual studies and the history of publishing
  • traditional culture of the English-speaking world including custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Banner image for Arts & Humanities Citation Index

MLA International Bibliography

MLA Internation Bibliography banner image.

Oxford Bibliographies

Screenshot of an Oxford Bibliography for Postcolonial Theory

The site includes bibliographies on authors and topics from American Literature, British & Irish Literature, Literary and Cultural Theory, Medieval Studies, Renaissance & Reformation, and Victorian Literature. You can browse by subject or search the site. Once in a bibliography on a topic or author, you can use the  button to search SOLO for the recommended item.