Skip to Main Content

English Language and Literature: Books

Introduction

Oxford's collections in English language and literature are rich and diverse. The Bodleian Library's extensive research collections of printed works, manuscripts and archives are complemented and supplemented by the lending collection held at the English Faculty Library, as well as related collections in other libraries, including, for example, the Taylor Institution Library (linguistics, Germanic philology), Area Studies libraries such as the Vere Harmsworth Library (American Studies), and related collections such as the History Faculty Library and the Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library.

The Radcliffe Camera (library-use) and the EFL (lending) hold general working collections focused primarily on supporting the teaching of English at Oxford, including material on English Faculty reading lists.

Please see the 'Physical books' box below for details of libraries with relevant collections.

The Bodleian Libraries has 1.4 million ebooks across all subjects, all discoverable via SOLO. See the 'Electronic books' box below for details of some of the ebook collections relevant to English.

Books held by the Bodleian Libraries, in both physical and electronic formats, can be searched for via the library catalogue SOLO. The link below provides help with using SOLO.

Physical books

English Language & Literature Collection Development Policy

The Bodleian Libraries continues to collect primary and secondary source material for English literature and language as broadly as possible in all periods. Please see below for a downloadable copy of the Collection Development Policy. If you have any further collections queries you can contact the subject specialist (see Home page).

New Acquisitions

New acquisitions are added regularly to the English Faculty Library LibraryThing page (see below). For full-text access to the titles, search for them in SOLO or click on the permalinks in the comments section of our LibraryThing catalogue. You will need to sign in to your MySOLO account using your Single-Sign On.

We also have a physical display of new books in the English Faculty Library, next to the issue desk. If an EFL item you're looking for on SOLO says 'New Book Display' then this is where you will find it. You are still able to borrow these items.

There is also a display of new English literature and language-related titles that have recently been added to the Bodleian Library's collections: this can be found in the Upper Reading Room in the Bodleian Old Library.

Electronic books (ebooks)

The following is a selection of ebook collections which include literary works in English. It's possible to browse and search these platforms, but the individual ebooks in these collections are also discoverable via SOLO.

The following is a selection of ebook collections which include material relevant to English language and literature. It's possible to browse and search these platforms, but the individual ebooks in these collections are also discoverable via SOLO.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias to support the study of English Language and Literature.

Book recommendations & inter-library loans

If we don't have the book you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required). Alternatively we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Why are some books not available electronically?

There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic acces to a resource. The Social Science Library have produced a brief, digestible blog post explaining some of these reasons: