Skip to main content

Shakespeare: a short guide to online resources: Websites

Online resources for Shakespeare
Subjects: English

Cambridge Shakespeare

Cambridge Shakespeare hosts a wealth of prize-winning content from Cambridge University Press, with integrated playtexts and notes, reference material and related multimedia resources. 

Cambridge Shakespeare includes:

  • The complete bestselling New Cambridge Shakespeare series (41 volumes)
  • The New Cambridge Shakespeare: The Early Quartos series (7 volumes)
  • Shakespeare in Production (14 volumes)
  • The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare; over 300 transhistorical, international and interdisciplinary essays on Shakespeare and contexts
  • A new version of Emma Smith’s The Cambridge Shakespeare Guide, exclusive to Cambridge Shakespeare
  • Multimedia resources for each work, curated by the Folger Shakespeare Library
  • Annotated edition(s) of the text (New Cambridge ShakespeareShakespeare in ProductionThe Early Quartos)

Features & Functionality:
  • Ability to switch between explanatory, performance-based and textual notes
  • User friendly navigation and full-text search
  • Ability to toggle notes on and off, presenting an uncluttered and customisable reading experience
  • Ability to view and download content in both HTML and PDF formats
  • Extensive cross-referencing within and between Shakespeare’s works

Shakespearean London Theatres

Exploring Shakespearean London Theatres, this resource contains a map, a printed Guide, interactive software, public talks, and downloadable short films.

 

 

Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive

Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive is an image archive, with over 3000 illustrations from four significant illustrated editions of Shakespeare's works in the Victorian period.

 

 

 

Shakespeare Documented

Shakespeare Documented is the largest and most authoritative collection of primary-source materials documenting the life of Shakespeare, bringing together all known manuscript and print references to Shakespeare, his works, and additional references to his family, in his lifetime and shortly thereafter.

Nearly 500 references, found in roughly 400 print and manuscript documents, provide a rich portrait of Shakespeare as a professional playwright, actor, poet, business man, and family man who lived in both London and Stratford-upon-Avon. These documents trace Shakespeare’s path to becoming a household name, from the earliest reference to his father in Stratford-upon-Avon, a bustling market town in Warwickshire, in 1552, to the publication of his collected plays, now known as the “First Folio,” in 1623, to the earliest gossipy references to Shakespeare in the following decades.

On this site you will find images, descriptions, and transcriptions of:

  • 107 manuscripts that refer to William Shakespeare by name in his lifetime (spelled in many different ways, which was typical of the period), including four manuscripts signed by him, and one letter addressed to him 
  • 95 printed books and manuscripts from Shakespeare's lifetime that mention or quote his plays or poems, or that refer to him directly or indirectly as a writer
  • 34 Stationers’ Register entries for Shakespeare’s plays and poems, up to and including the First Folio (1623), five of which name him as author
  • 84 printed editions of Shakespeare’s plays and poems, up to and including the First Folio (1623), 62 of which include his name on the title-page or dedicatory leaf
  • More than 100 documents that refer to other members of Shakespeare's family, including references to Shakespeare's coat of arms

 

World Shakespeare Bibliography

The World Shakespeare Bibliography is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide since 1960.

Contents include:

  • annotated entries for all important books,
  • articles,
  • book reviews,
  • dissertations,
  • theatrical productions,
  • reviews of productions,
  • audiovisual materials,
  • electronic media
  • scholarly and popular materials

The more than 129,000 records cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.