Skip to main content

Shakespeare: a short guide to online resources: Audio visual resources

Online resources for Shakespeare
Subjects: English

Box of Broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts is an on demand TV and radio service for education. You can search an archive of over 2 million broadcasts, record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and create playlists, clips and clip compilations. Content includes BBC One, BBC Two, BBC Four, ITV, Channel 4, Film4, 10 foreign language channels, BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s, and more.

Get access to Box of Broadcasts
Find Box of Broadcasts on SOLO, or click this link. You will need to register an account, and sign into it again with your Single Sign On. Once you are signed up you can search for any TV show, but we have also created playlists for easy access.

Films & TV Dramas
Films such as David Tennant’s RSC Hamlet performance, the BBC Hollow Crown series, and the BBC Shakespeare Performances.

Documentaries
Including Shakespeare Uncovered.

Global Shakespeares

Global Shakespeares is a useful online resource for Shakespeare in performance. Provided by MIT, it is a performance archive providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field. 

 

Shakespeare on iTunes U

 

 

Access Oxford University podcasts via iTunesU

If you do not want to install iTunes or are not running Windows or Mac OS you can access all of our podcasts through any web browser: University of Oxford podcasts

Take a look at the current list of podcasts produced by the English Faculty

 

English Faculty Shakespeare podcasts on iTunesU

Approaching Shakespeare: lectures by Emma Smith

Not Shakespeare: Elizabethan and Jacobean Popular Theatre: lectures by Emma Smith

Globe on Screen & RSC Live

Oxford University members have access, via Drama Online to the following film collections:

Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 1 (2008-2015)
21 films recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV.

Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018)
Features 9 landmark productions from the Globe Theatre’s most recent seasons, including the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse in 2014.

The RSC Live Collection (2013-2017 & 2018-2019)

The RSC Live Collection comprises 17 live productions performed between 2013 and 2017, including the 2016-17 production of The Tempest starring Simon Russell Beale. A further 9 films of productions performed in 2018 and 2019 have also been added to the collection, including Twelfth Night starring Adrian Edmondson.

To access use this link and sign in with your SSO or click on the links above. 

NB. Oxford does not have access to all video content on Drama Online.

 

Shakespeare audio plays

The Complete Arkangel Shakespeare contains fully dramatised unabridged recordings of all of Shakespeare’s 38 plays. Each play is recorded by noted actors, many of whom were trained at the Royal Shakespeare Company, such as Simon Russell Beale, Joseph Fiennes, David Tennant, Niamh Cusack and Sir John Gielgud and includes sound effects and music to bring the plays further to life. All audio plays are in mp3 format and will play on your computer’s default media player.

You can access these plays via Literature Online by finding the Shakespeare author page and scrolling down to the audio links. You may also be able to access it via this direct link but if you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access.