Skip to Main Content

Engineering: Databases

Subjects: Engineering, Patents

Citation Searching

Citation searching (finding out which articles have cited an article or book after publication) can be done on Web of Science

Business Databases

Some key databases for business and company information:

Request a Resource

Key electronic databases

Bibliographic databases can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents on a particular subject or by a particular author. 

If you are on campus you can access most databases & e-journals directly. For off-campus access start at SOLO and log in with your Oxford Single Sign-On.

Alternatively you can search Databases A-Z (All subjects list)

Highlighted Specialty Databases

There are also many databases with a more specific subject focus:

Search tips

Databases are provided on different interfaces. Most of them support the following functions:

  • Advanced Search screen provides options for combining your keywords.
  • Combine keywords using appropriate Boolean Operators (drop down menu):
    • AND - to combine/narrow down; OR - to broaden; NOT - to exclude terms.
  • Use synonyms, alternative terms, phrases and variations in spelling.
  • Use truncation at the end of your term (*)
  • Refine results by subjects, controlled vocabulary, publication year ...
  • Select/Mark relevant references and display results.
  • Save, E-mail or Export selected references.

Other Relevant Guides

See Subject Guides in the area of Medicine, along with the following guides:

Article Alerts

Search Alerts

Many bibliographic databases allow you to set search alerts which will automatically inform you of new publications issued on topics that are of interest to you.

To set up a search alert you will normally have to take 4 steps:

  1. Set up a personal account on the database you wish to use, this will allow you save searches and alerts.
  2. Create your search and run it to check the results.
  3. Save the search as an alert.
  4. Set up the details of the alert by indicating how you would like to receive the alert (via E-mail or RSS feed) and with what frequency.

Citation Alerts

Citation alerts can be set to automatically notify you when a particular research article or conference paper is cited by a new publication appearing in a bibliographic database.

Want to know who is citing you?

Some databases also allow you to set up citation alerts to an author rather than a single publication. You can use citation alerting to help you keep track of who is citing your own work. Citation alerts can be set up on scientific literature databases such as SCOPUS and Web of Science.