Skip to Main Content

Egyptology: Online resources

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for Egyptology at the University of Oxford. It incorporates the libraries previously housed in the Griffith Institute and the Ashmolean Museum.
Subjects: Egyptology

Subject-specific online resources (selection)

These archives provide an overview of objects from the art market as well as from selected literature and museum collections. N.B.: Objects being included does not necessarily imply authenticity.

Aims to gather all bibliographical references relating to the temples of Karnak.

The Coptic SCRIPTORIUM enables Digital Research in Coptic Language and Literature.

The current database assembles all available Early Dynastic inscriptions, covering the first attestations of writing discovered in tomb U-j (Naqada IIIA1, ca. 3250 BC) until the earliest known continuous written text in the reign of Djoser (ca. 2700 BC).

This database contains c. 3,000 administrative inscriptions and documents, literary and liturgical manuscripts, private correspondence, epitaphs and tombstones and graffiti etc.

The Deir el-Medina Database is meant to be an intermediate presentation of the ongoing research project A Survey of the New Kingdom Non-literary Texts from Deir el-Medina of Leiden University.

This reference tool for Demotic palaeography encorporates all text types, and each item is accompanied by a transliteration, translation and secondary literature. The database enables the identification of individual scribes and the analysis of the development of the Demotic script and language over the 1,200 years.

The primary aim of the website is support for learning across different disciplines. The site is aimed at you especially if your subject includes a historical dimension - architecture, art, medicine, science, religion, literature, gender studies, cultural studies, museum studies.

The colossal site of Karnak is one of the largest temple complexes in the world, with an incredibly rich architectural, ritual, religious, economic, social and political history. Enter the temple precinct and discover its rich religious, political and architectural history.

Here, you could find out more about the ancient artifact, its contents and how research of it progresses in the digital age. We offer you open access resources, articles, and material for study (work in progress).

Originally published as the Bibliography of the Prehistory and the Early Dynastic period of Egypt and northern Sudan with annual updates since 1995 in the journal Archéo-Nil.

The website comprises news, digs, institutions and museums, email lists, societies, FAQs, newsgroups.

Open Access article by Alain Delattre and Paul Heilporn in Bibliotheca Orientalis 71 (2014).

The Giza Digital Library provides freely accessible monographs, articles, and manuscripts on the Giza Necropolis.

The Griffith Institute Archive houses a diverse and significant collection which explores the wealth of Ancient Egypt, inc Tutankhamun resources, Petrie journals, squeezes, excavation diaries etc.

This Blog accompanies the project Altägyptische Kursivinschriften: digitale Paläographie des Hieratischen und der Kursivhieroglyphen based at the University of Main (Germany). Providing information about/access to a bibliography, online resources, museum databases, a digital palaeography etc, it constitutes an essential tool for working with texts written in Hieratic and cursive hieroglyphs.

The IDD is designed as a companion to the Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible (DDD), edited by Karel van der Toorn, Bob Becking and Pieter van der Horst (Leiden: Brill, 2nd edition 1999). Its focus will be on visual sources, essential for interpreting the religious symbol systems of antiquity.

The database is intended to serve as a resource for the study of magical, alchemical, astrological and other ritual and related texts from the ancient and medieval Mediterranean world. At present the focus is on magical texts written in Coptic, Greek, and Demotic from Egypt. 

The MEKETREpository is an extensive database of Middle Kingdom tombs of officials, especially those at Beni Hassan.

The data presented in this platform are the outcome of a research project entitled “Nubian textiles: craft, trade, costume and identity in the medieval kingdom of Makuria”, conducted at the Institute of Oriental and Mediterranean Cultures of the Polish Academy of Sciences from 2016 to 2018. 

The richly illustrated descriptions on this site can serve as a guidebook for any tombs you might visit that are open to the public. They will also enable you to discover the many others to which you will never have access otherwise.

The collection is best known for its material from the Tebtunis temple library but also includes papyri from other sites in Egypt, written in various scripts. The website offers inventories, a bibliography, a concordance and highlights of the collection.

The goal of Tracking Papyrus and Parchments Paths is to provide an in-depth understanding and effective representation of the geography of Coptic literary production and in particular of the coprus of literary writings, almost exclusively of religious contents, produced in Egypt between the 3rd and the 13th centuries in the Coptic language.

This Blog is a treasure trove for researchers of Coptic manuscripts.  

A prosopography database for the Middle Kingdom based at Mainz University. 

Système d'Indexation des Textes Héroglyphiques aims at a systematic publication of the texts of the Karnak Temple in the form of a database.

The UEE constitutes a steadily growing resource for high quality peer reviewed information on ancient Egypt.

This is useful starting point for researching royal and non-royal (u)shabtis. N.B.: please allow for a considerable margin of error re the dating of pieces that are not related to royal persons. 

This website provides a study of funerary cones, inc their fabric and production, research history, geographical distribution, museum holdings, the Macadam collections and a bibliography. 

ZODIAC aims to develop a new account of the emergence, spread and cross-cultural transformations of zodiacal astral science in Babylonia, Egypt and the Graeco-Roman world. The website includes a bibliography.

Museum collections online

Ancient Egypt in films

This site offers an elaborate overview of motion pictures and tv movies that prominently feature Egyptology and ancient Egypt, its monuments or sites.