Keeping the University reading - While our physical services are suspended, we are continuing to provide, and expanding, our digital services. . Readers can also get support and advice through our Live Chat and enquiries service. For Inter-Library Loans (ILL), electronic delivery is now available free of charge, although physical ILL is suspended. Please visit the Bodleian Libraries website and social media channels for regular updates.
Ebooks: Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates - Bodleian Libraries' constantly updated LibGuide to ebook provision as the libraries deal with with impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Bodleian Libraries are exploring ways to support remote and online teaching using ebooks.
Humanities: COVID-19 - This NEW LibGuide provides an overview of general resources and ebooks relevant to Humanities and how to cite them, and where you find help re library matters.
AWDL - Ancient World Digital Library is an initiative of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World and aims at providing access to a broad range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world. Expanding the collection, AWDL is actively soliciting partnerships with publishers, scholarly societies, organizations and individuals who hold the rights to scholarly content.
AWOL - Ancient World Online is in the first instance a database for open access material relating to the ancient world, inc Ancient Egypt, Nubia, the Sudan, Papyrology and Late Roman Egypt.
Brepols online books to 2017: to be access via A-Z Database until 31 May 2020.
CORE - CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all. A vast amount of material on Egyptology can be accessed through this portal.
EThOS - Based at the British Library EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
Getty Research Portal - The Getty Research Portal is an online platform providing global access to digitized art history texts, inc many older books on Ancient Egypt, the Sudan and the Ancient Near East. It provides access to digitized resources for the printed literature of art, including fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogues, auction catalogues, and related literature.
Giza Digital Library - The Giza Digital Library provides freely accessible monographs, articles, and manuscripts on the Giza Necropolis.
Internet Archive - Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
MetPublications - This is a portal to the Metropolitan Museum's comprehensive publishing programme with over 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.
ProjectMUSE - Project MUSE is a trusted provider of authoritative humanities and social science ebooks and ejournals from more than 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
Propylaeum DOK - Propylaeum DOK is the full-text server of the Specialized Information Service Classics and is made available by the University Library of Heidelberg. It includes Egyptological publications.