AWOL - Ancient World Online is in the first instance a database for open access material relating to the ancient world, inc Ancient Egypt, Nubia, the Sudan, Papyrology and Late Roman Egypt.
CORE - CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all. A vast amount of material on Egyptology can be accessed through this portal.
Bibliographie des temples de Karnak - This webpage aims to gather all bibliographical references relating to the temples of Karnak.
Comprehensive Coptic Lexicon: Including Loanwords from Ancient Greek v 1.2 - The Comprehensive Coptic Lexicon v 1.2 now contains 11263 entries and 31847 forms of Egyptian-Coptic and Greek-Coptic datasets (viewed 15/10/2020).
Coptic Dictionary Online - The CDO aims to make it easy to look up Coptic words in all dialects and to supply freely accessible translations in English, French and German.
Coptic SCRIPTORIUM - The Coptic SCRIPTORIUM enables Digital Research in Coptic Language and Literature.
Database of Early Dynastic inscriptions - The current database assembles all available Early Dynastic inscriptions, covering the first attestations of writing discovered in tomb U-j (Naqada IIIA1, ca. 3250 BC) until the earliest known continuous written text in the reign of Netjerikhet– more commonly known as Djoser (ca. 2700 BC).
Database of Medieval Nubian Texts - This database contains c. 3,000 records, which cover all possible forms of written expression left by the inhabitants of the Middle Nile Valley in the Middle Ages, e.g. administrative inscriptions and documents, literary and liturgical manuscripts, private correspondence, epitaphs and tombstones and graffiti etc.
Deir el-Medina Database - The Deir el-Medina Database is meant to be an intermediate presentation of the ongoing research project A Survey of the New Kingdom Non-literary Texts from Deir el-Medina of Leiden University. The database is a search tool enabling the user to retrieve the documents relevant to his/her research activities from the corpus of non-literary texts from Deir el-Medina.
Digital Egypt for Universities - The primary aim of the website is support for learning across different disciplines. The site is aimed at you especially if your subject includes a historical dimension - architecture, art, medicine, science, religion, literature, gender studies, cultural studies, museum studies.
Digital Karnak - The colossal site of Karnak is one of the largest temple complexes in the world, with an incredibly rich architectural, ritual, religious, economic, social and political history. Enter the temple precinct and discover its rich religious, political and architectural history.
Digital Topographical Bibliography - The Topographical Bibliography of Ancient Egyptian Hieroglyphic Texts, Statues, Reliefs and Paintings, (also known as "Porter & Moss" or "TopBib") is an essential and comprehensive reference resource for Egyptologists, presenting and analysing both published and unpublished information about ancient Egyptian monuments.
Digitale Schott-Archiv - The database contains 8,000 images taken by Siegfried Schott in Egypt during the 1920s and 1930s in Egypt.
EEF guide to internet resources for ancient Egyptian texts - This compilation of freely available online resources for Ancient Egyptian texts has been published by the Egyptologists' Electronic Forum (EEF).
Egyptology Resources - Egyptology Resources, set up in 1994, was the first web page set up specifically for the benefit of those interested in Egyptology, whether laymen or professionals. Amongst others it comprises news, digs, institutions and museums, email lists, societies, FAQs, newsgroups.
Electronic Resources for Graeco-Roman and Christian Egypt - Open Access article by Alain Delattre and Paul Heilporn in Bibliotheca Orientalis 71 (2014).
Giza Digital Library - The Giza Digital Library provides freely accessible monographs, articles, and manuscripts on the Giza Necropolis.
Griffith Institute Archive online resources - The Griffith Institute has been sharing the content of its Egyptological Archive through a variety of online projects since 1995 having placed nearly 20,000 pages of original documentation in the public domain, e.g. Tutankhamun resources, Petrie journals, Griffith Institute squeezes etc.
Hieratisch AKUell - This Blog accompanies the project Altägyptische Kursivinschriften: digitale Paläographie des Hieratischen und der Kursivhieroglyphen based at the University of Main (Germany). Providing information about/access to a bibliography, online resources, museum databases, a digital palaeography etc, it constitutes an essential tool for working with texts written in Hieratic and cursive hieroglyphs.
Iconography of Deities and Demons in the Ancient Near East - The IDD is designed as a companion to the Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible (DDD), edited by Karel van der Toorn, Bob Becking and Pieter van der Horst (Leiden: Brill, 2nd edition 1999). Its focus will be on visual sources, which are essential for interpreting the religious symbol systems of antiquity.
Kyprianos Database of Ancient Ritual Texts - The database is intended to serve as a resource for the study of magical, alchemical, astrological and other ritual and related texts from the ancient and medieval Mediterranean world. At present the focus is on magical texts written in Coptic, Greek, and Demotic from Egypt. For more information check HERE.
MEKETREpository - The MEKETREpository is an extensive database of Middle Kingdom tombs of officials, especially those at Beni Hassan. Part of the present project shall cover its extension by adding detailed records of the Beni Hassan coffins, and an update to meet the FAIR Data principles and guarantee its future usability.
Nubian Textiles Database - The data presented in this platform are the outcome of a research project entitled “Nubian textiles: craft, trade, costume and identity in the medieval kingdom of Makuria”, conducted at the Institute of Oriental and Mediterranean Cultures of the Polish Academy of Sciences from 2016 to 2018.
Online Egyptological Bibliography - The OEB which is available through SOLO holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. The project is based in the Griffith Institute at Oxford University.
Osirisnet: tombs of Ancient Egypt - The richly illustrated descriptions on this site can serve as a guidebook for any tombs you might visit that are open to the public. They will also enable you to discover the many others to which you will never have access otherwise.
Papyrus Carlsberg Collection - The collection is best known for its material from the Tebtunis temple library but also includes papyri from other sites in Egypt, written in various scripts. The website offers inventories, a biography, a concordance and highlights of the collection.
PAThs - The goal of Tracking Papyrus and Parchments Paths is to provide an in-depth understanding and effective representation of the geography of Coptic literary production and in particular of the coprus of literary writings, almost exclusively of religious contents, produced in Egypt between the 3rd and the 13th centuries in the Coptic language.
Patristics, Apocrypha, Coptic Literature and Manuscripts - Maintained by Alin Suciu from the Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities, this Blog is a treasure trove for researchers of Coptic manuscripts.
Persons and Names of the Middle Kingdom - A prosopography database for the Middle Kingdom based at Mainz University.
Prosopographia Aegypti - Database by Jochen Hallof (1998), inc Ranke, Personennamen (1935-1952) and Thirion, Addenda et Corrigenda and the Index by Backes and Dresbach (2007), prepared by Erhart Graefe 2020. To display the hieroglyphs you are required to download the OA programme JSesh 7.4.2.
SITH: Projet Karnak - Système d’Indexation des Textes Hiéroglyphiques aims at a systematic publication of the texts of the Karnak Temple in the form of a database.
Theban Mapping Project - The Theban Mapping Project has been working in Thebes and particularly the Valley of the Kings for nearly three decades. The project and its focus have changed a lot over this period of time and even now the Theban Mapping Project continues to develop and expand. Access the links below to learn in more detail about the history of the Theban Mapping Project from its beginnings in 1978 and discover how we carry out different aspects of our work.
Thesaurus Linguae Aegyptiae - It is the purpose of the TLA to make available, in the form of a virtual dictionary, a new and, within Egyptology novel, tool for lexicographic research into the Egyptian language.
Trismegistos - An interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources formerly Egypt and the Nile valley (800 BC-AD 800), now expanding to the Ancient World in general. Members of the University of Oxford can access Trismegistos via SOLO.
UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology - The UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology (UEE) is an international cooperative project to provide high quality peer reviewed information on ancient Egypt. It is a resource in development and will grow steadily.
World of Funerary Cones - This website is owned by Kento Zenihiro (Waseda University) and it provides a study of funerary cones, inc their fabric and production, research history, geographical distribution, museum holdings, the Macadam collections and a bibliography.
Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) - The DLME has begun to federate Middle Eastern collections from around the world, creating a publicly accessible, inter-operable digital library of cultural material.
EThOS - Based at the British Library EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
MetPublications - This is a portal to the Metropolitan Museum's comprehensive publishing programme with over 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.
ODNB - The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography contains full-text extended essays not only on British people but also non-Brits who spent time in the UK. Excellent resource for finding biographical information on archaeologists, art patrons, collectors and dealers. People still alive are excluded.
Oxford Digital Theses - Digital theses and Oxford University Research Archive (ORA).
ProQuest - Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations / theses written for academic institutions in Ireland, North America (Canada & the US), the UK & other countries.
Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center (US) - Access to 2 million+ museum, archive, library and research holdings and collections across the Smithsonian's various sub-entities.
Times Digital Archive (1785-2012) - The Times Digital Archive (1785-2012) contain over 11 million articles on everything from history and literature to culture and art, inc archaeology.