Alternative name: International Monetary Fund eLibrary
The IMF elibrary provides online access to the complete collection of global economic content published by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) comprising more than 11,000 text publications and full access to the IMF's statistical databases. Access offers information and analysis on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice and poverty reduction.
Gateway to OECD’s analysis and data with online access provided for all publications and statistics released since 1998.
The iLibrary covers 17 key themes including development, economics, governance, trade and social issues, migration and health. As of March 2013 content includes 5 billion data points across 42 databases; 44,630 tables and graphs; 8,330 ebook titles; 30,280 chapters; and 1,920 key tables.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Current modules include: African History, American History, Anthropology, Asian History, Business & Management, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, Education, Environmental Science, Global Public Health, International Studies, Latin American History, Linguistics, Literature, Natural Hazard Science, Neuroscience, Physics, Planetary Science, Politics, Physiology, Religion.
Alternative name: OSO. Contains scholarly books, published by Oxford University Press, in the humanities, sciences, medicine and social sciences online. The full texts of over 1,000 key Oxford titles in Biology, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Public Health and Epidemiology, Business and Management, Law, Music, Physics, Religion, Classical Studies, Linguistics, Neuroscience, Political Science, Social Work, Economics and Finance, Literature, Palliative Care, Psychology and Sociology are now available - together with specially-commissioned book and chapter abstracts and keywords. At least 200 new books will be added each year as part of the annual subscription.
Alternative name: Taylor & Francis Online eBooks Library
A librarian-selected package of eBooks from the publisher Taylor & Francis, with titles in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law. When browsing the site, filter contents to “Full access content only”.
"Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850" provides digital facsimile of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport. Explore the historical underpinnings integral to the study of economics and European imperialism from 1500 to the early twentieth century.
It is a valuable source of contemporary opinion, historical context and biographical information. The online version of The Annual Register includes every volume published and will be updated with the latest volume each year. It was first written in 1758 under the editorship of Edmund Burke.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, living edition, is a dynamic online version of the definitive reference source for economics and contains over 3,000 articles by leading economists including a number of Oxford economists.
Each Oxford handbook brings together the world's leading scholars in the field to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by Frederick F. Wherry (Editor); Juliet B. Schor (Editor)Economics is the nexus and engine that runs society, affecting societal well-being, raising standards of living when economies prosper or lowering citizens through class structures when economies perform poorly. Our society only has to witness the booms and busts of the past decade to see how economics profoundly affects the cores of societies around the world. From a household budget to international trade, economics ranges from the micro- to the macro-level. It relates to a breadth of social science disciplines that help describe the content of the proposed encyclopedia, which will explicitly approach economics through varied disciplinary lenses. Although there are encyclopedias of covering economics (especially classic economic theory and history), the SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. Features: 4 volumes with approximately 800 signed articles ranging from 1,000 to 5,000 words each are presented in a choice of print or electronic editions Organized A-to-Z with a thematic Reader's Guide in the front matter groups related entries Articles conclude with References & Future Readings to guide students to the next step on their research journeys Cross-references between and among articles combine with a thorough Index and the Reader's Guide to enhance search-and-browse in the electronic version Pedagogical elements include a Chronology of Economics and Society, Resource Guide, and Glossary This academic, multi-author reference work will serve as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers within social science programs who seek to better understand economics through a contemporary lens.
The SAGE Handbook of Quantitative Methodology for the Social Sciences by David W. Kaplan (Editor)`This Handbook discusses important methodological tools and topics in quantitative methodology in easy to understand language. It is an exhaustive review of past and recent advances in each topic combined with a detailed discussion of examples and graphical illustrations. It will be an essential reference for social science researchers as an introduction to methods and quantitative concepts of great use′ - Irini Moustaki, London School of Economics `The 24 chapters in this Handbook span a wide range of topics, presenting the latest quantitative developments in scaling theory, measurement, categorical data analysis, multilevel models, latent variable models, and foundational issues. Each chapter reviews the historical context for the topic and then describes current work, including illustrative examples where appropriate. The level of presentation throughout the book is detailed enough to convey genuine understanding without overwhelming the reader with technical material. Ample references are given for readers who wish to pursue topics in more detail. The book will appeal to both researchers who wish to update their knowledge of specific quantitative methods, and students who wish to have an integrated survey of state-of- the-art quantitative methods′ - Roger E Millsap, Arizona State University The SAGE Handbook of Quantitative Methodology for the Social Sciences is the definitive reference for teachers, students, and researchers of quantitative methods in the social sciences, as it provides a comprehensive overview of the major techniques used in the field. The contributors, top methodologists and researchers, have written about their areas of expertise in ways that convey the utility of their respective techniques, but, where appropriate, they also offer a fair critique of these techniques. Relevance to real-world problems in the social sciences is an essential ingredient of each chapter and makes this an invaluable resource. The Handbook is divided into six sections: * Scaling * Testing and Measurement * Models for Categorical Data * Models for Multilevel Data * Models for Latent Variables * Foundational Issues These sections, comprising twenty-four chapters, address topics in scaling and measurement, advances in statistical modeling methodologies, and broad philosophical themes and foundational issues that transcend many of the quantitative methodologies covered in the book. The Handbook is indispensable to the teaching, study, and research of quantitative methods and will enable readers to develop a level of understanding of statistical techniques commensurate with the most recent, state-of-the-art, theoretical developments in the field. It provides the foundations for quantitative research, with cutting-edge insights on the effectiveness of each method, depending on the data and distinct research situation.
Wiley Online Library is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. Access to over 1,000 journals including, in many cases, the backfiles. We have access to some reference works but do not have access to most e-books on the Wiley platform.
The Directory of Open Access Books is a list of academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access from a variety of publishers, linking to the full text. It is provided by the OAPEN Foundation, to increase the discoverability of Open Access books.
The OAPEN Library contains over 1,500 freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. It is most strong in Economics & finance, History, Law, Literature, Mathematics & science, and Social Sciences.
The Commonwealth iLibrary comprises the Commonwealth Secretariat’s publications and covers such topics as globalisation and multinational trade issues, gender, education, law and human rights, and public service management and reform. It currently includes 813 ebook titles, 8,920 chapters and 218 working papers. Titles are organised by series, year and alphabetically, and search and discovery of complete publications or their components, articles and chapters, can be retrieved. The Commonwealth iLibrary has been developed in partnership with OECD Publishing and the OECD iLibrary.
A library of books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos on methods across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.
Sponsored by SAGE, the site is created for students and researchers to network and share research, resources and debates. Methodspace users have free access to selected journal articles, book chapters, etc which highlight emerging topics in the field.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout