Skip to main content

Earth Sciences: Home

Subjects: Earth Sciences

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Earth Sciences at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Earth Sciences, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for earth sciences

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for earth sciences and printed books, including the main science collection in the Radcliffe Science Library.  For more detailed info about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for earth sciences below but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for earth sciences below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Related guides

Related libraries

This guide provides links to the key library resources for Earth Sciences at Oxford University.

The printed collection of books, journals and other items is housed in two locations: the Earth Sciences Library in the Earth Sciences Department building and the Radcliffe Science Library (Note: the Radcliffe Science Library is being refurbished. Library services for science are being housed temporarily in the Vere Harmsworth Library).

If you have questions, need help or want to recommend a resource for purchase, please contact either the Bodleian Libraries Acting Subject Specialist for Earth Sciences, Catherine Dockerty, or the Departmental Librarian Elizabeth Crowley in the Earth Sciences Department.