Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital theses and ORA: ORA

NOTICE

NOTICE: Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic ORA services are remote working with limited access. Please use the contact us form or email ora@bodleian.ox.ac.uk directly. Phones are currently unmanned with voicemails being accessed intermittently.

Useful links

ORA_LibGuide

Coronavirus Update

Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic ORA services are remote working with limited access. Please use the contact us form or email ora@bodleian.ox.ac.uk directly. Phones are currently unmanned with voicemails being accessed intermittently.

Hardbound theses submissions:

Students will not need to submit a hardbound copy of their DPhil thesis to the Examination Schools in order to graduate, following being granted leave to supplicate, during the 2021/22 academic year. This also includes any students who were unable to submit a hardbound copy due to COVID-19 social distancing measures in the 2019/20 & 2020/21 academic year. However, all candidates will still need to submit an electronic copy to the Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) a minimum of five working days prior to their graduation date. Students will not be able to attend a degree ceremony (even in absentia) without doing so.

Further information on the position from 2022/23 onwards, and on when it will be possible to submit hard copies of restricted access theses, will be forthcoming in due course. Hard copies should not be printed and submitted to the Exam Schools or arranged for print and delivery via print services in the meantime, before it is confirmed when it will be possible to receive them.
 

Submissions of Research Degrees theses to be sent to examiners will still be via the Research Thesis Digital Submissions portal.

Up to date guidance for students and staff can be found on the Covid-19 FAQ page: http://www.ox.ac.uk/news-and-events/coronavirus-advice “

About ORA

The University of Oxford is committed to the dissemination of its research, and in support of this commitment provides ORA. The Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) was established in 2007 as a permanent and secure online archive of research materials produced by members of the University of Oxford.

It provides a single point of public access to electronic copies of peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings by Oxford authors and Oxford research theses, created in fulfilment of University of Oxford Awards.  This also provides a means for institutional compliance with funders’ Open Access requirements.

ORA is maintained by staff within the Bodleian Digital Libraries System and Services Department (BDLSS) of the Bodleian Libraries. Contact details are available here.

There are a number of benefits to storing your thesis in ORA and making your thesis freely available:

Benefits for authors

  • Makes your research easily available to a wider audience
  • Gain wider recognition for your research
  • Easy access
  • Persistant links
  • Easily citable
  • Long term preservation

Benefits for the University and wider society

  • Previously difficult to find and access research is easy to obtain
  • Brings Oxford research to the attention of a wider audience
  • Keeps Oxford in line with mainstream delivery of theses online from other universities
  • Benefits those who previously might not have had access to Oxford theses

Oxford Research Archive

 

 

 

 

 

Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) is an institutional repository for the University of Oxford and is home to the scholarly output of its research members. It holds publications, theses and research data.

Contact us at: ora@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

NOTICE: Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic ORA services are remote working with limited access. Please use the contact us form or email ora@bodleian.ox.ac.uk directly. Phones are currently unmanned with voicemails being accessed intermittently.