A year-by-year record of British and world events, published since 1758.
The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. It is a valuable source of contemporary opinion, historical context and biographical information. The online version of The Annual Register includes every volume published and will be updated with the latest volume each year. It was first written in 1758 under the editorship of Edmund Burke. The first half of the book comprises articles on each of the world’s countries or regions, while the latter half contains articles on international organisations, economics, the environment, science, law, religion, the arts and sport, together with obituaries, a chronicle of major events and selected documents.
EMIS delivers news, company and financial data direct from more than 70 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa. It gives emerging market specialists worldwide one-stop Internet access to mission-critical information straight from the local markets and from over 10,500 publications. Whether they are looking for current news, hard-to-get company and industry information, financial markets data or macroeconomic analysis, EMIS offers the definitive solution for convenient access of emerging markets business intelligence.
Updated daily, our sources are categorized, archived, indexed and fully searchable via a uniquely intuitive and customizable interface. Supporting 20 languages, the service is designed for speed and ease of use. Over 2250 institutional clients rely on EMIS every day to research companies, investigate industries and track developments that impact their business.
If the Factiva link does not work, please try a second time. We are working to resolve this error.
Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva's unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.
Factiva's innovative, XML-based and Web services-enabled technology platform provides access to this rich content collection via Factiva's role-specific products or through customized enterprise, group or personal solutions. Executives, information professionals, marketers, salespeople, and other professionals can easily monitor and understand the latest news, market trends, and business challenges relevant to them directly from the Microsoft Office and job-specific applications they use every day.
Online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam: https://advance.lexis.com?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names: LexisNexis Business & News ; Lexis Nexis Business & News.
The news coverage offered by Nexis UK - Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data. The complete, fully customisable, online news and business research service bringing together in a single source, all news, financial and business information licensed by LexisNexis for the academic market from around the globe.
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2015 ('EHA') is a fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist. The database covers 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages, offering full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers (via the browse by date option). Maps, images and financial tables can be searched separately. Selected financial tables published after May 1983 can be exported using links in the blue box to left of the page image.
The Financial Times Historical Archive provides an online, fully-searchable facsimile run of the London edition of the FT, from its first issue in 1888 to the end of 2016. Each item in this complete collection is categorized by both subject and topic, with every individual article, advertisement and market listing included and searchable for retrieval individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.
Founded in 1821 as the Manchester Guardian, becoming The Guardian in 1959 (and moving to London in 1964), The Guardian is an important British newspaper which gives readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past 200 years. Originally the voice of Manchester’s liberal industrial middle classes, in the past fifty years its readership has included an increasing proportion of public sector workers, and the newspaper has a reputation for following a liberal/ social democratic political stance. Ownership of the newspaper passed to a trust in 1936.
The New York Times (1851-2015) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 contains over 12 million articles as of 2021.
This resource requires you to register before use.
Alternative names: FT ; FT.com
The subscription includes access to subscriber-rated content and a Power Search facility that gives access to 8 years of the FT, along with 22 million articles from 500 of the world's leading business press publications.
NOTE: To access the service please register with an .ox.ac.uk email address. A link to the registration form is on WebLearn. Then if not logged in automatically, use the "Sign In" link in the top right of the FT home page.
The Wall Street Journal is available on the web through ProQuest, a premier information access and retrieval system. It is appropriate for all types of researchers whether they are online novices or information professionals. Basic and advanced search options, database segmenting, and conceptual smart searching are just a few of the features that help users find the exact information they need quickly and easily. Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available
Scope - The archive from Oxford Analytica's work currently covers 15 years political and economic analysis from the transition of the Cold War to New World Order.
Benefits - It provides access to the succinct, powerful open source intelligence as used by top-level decision-makers in government and the private sector. It bridges, in both timeliness and analytical depth, newspaper reporting of current events and the appearance of scholarly articles and books.
As a user of this archive it will offer detached and authoritative analysis of the forces at work behind the headlines by leading academics and business writers. It brings real world relevance through its depth to political and economic developments. The extensive cross-referencing within the database sets events in their national and international context.
Growth - The archive will continue to regularly grow as Oxford Analytica's articles are released, 3 months after their initial publication, into one of the most comprehensive databases of significant world political and economic developments.
The US' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.
Oxford has access is to the following geographical collections:
Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987
Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996
South Asia, 1980–1987
Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996
Eastern Europe, 1974–1996
Latin America, 1974-1996
Soviet Union, 1974-1991
Central Eurasia, 1992-1996
Western Europe, 1974-1996
The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.
FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout