Skip to main content

Criminology: Quick Start

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying criminology at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for criminology including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

Related Bodleian Guides

Criminology: quick start

The criminology collections are housed in two neighbouring locations: the Bodleian Social Science Library and the Bodleian Law Library.

Both Libraries are open to holders of an Oxford University Card or Bodleian Reader's Ticket.

The collections of both libraries , as well as online resources, can be found by searching SOLO.
If you do a straight search - do pay attention to the Location details: is the copy or copies held in the Social Science Library or the Law Library, or even both?
Alternatively, you may prefer to limit your search to just one library's collection at a time: do this by using the drop down menu at the right hand end of the search box and picking either Bodleian Law Library or Social Science Library.

For more help with using SOLO, please use the guide below:

Please Note: Until 6 October 2021 holders of an Oxford SSO have online access to a number of OUP student textbooks via Law Trove. Specifically for criminologists are the following:

Bowling, Reiner et al: The Politics of the Police, 2019
Campbell, Ashworth et al: The Criminal Process, 2019
Case, Johnson et al: Criminology, 2017
Downes, Rock et al: Understanding Deviance, 2016
Easton, Piper: Sentencing and Punishment, 2016
Finch, Fafinski: Criminology Skills, 2019
Hale, Hayward et al: Criminology, 2013
Hucklesby, Wahidin: Criminal Justice, 2013
Jones: Criminology, 2017
Liebling, Maruna et al: The Oxford Handbook of Criminology, 2017
Sanders, Young et al: Criminal Justice, 2010
Williams: Textbook on Criminology, 2012

Just three examples of criminology books available online to holders of an Oxford SSO which might help get one's studies going. In all three  cases there are print copies available - the first in just the Law Library, but the others in the Social Science Library as well, including the potential of borrowing a copy.

Two online encyclopedias available to holders of an Oxford SSO

Use SOLO to find ebooks - for some hints and tips on doing this successfully see the guide below:

Databases can be found by their title/name or by subject coverage using the Databases A-Z search below. Further guidance on specific databases is available on other pages in this guide.

Ejournals can be found using 

Below is an example of a key journal, available online from v 1 (1960) to date via a number of different platforms for holders of an Oxford SSO

One of the key sites on the free web is:

The Bodleian Social Science Library (SSL) houses the research and teaching collections of the former Centre for Criminology Library  which reflects the research interests of the Centre since its foundation in 1976.

The Social Science Library is the primary library for teaching support in criminology, and has a lending collection.

The Library is on the ground floor of the Manor Road Building, Manor Rd,  OX1 3UQ. 

The Social Science Library's book collection is arranged using Library of Congress - the guide below will help your shelf browsing

Use the SSL's official website (below) to check details of opening hours, lending policies and other services

The Bodleian Law Library (LawBod or BLL) has a large collection in both criminology and criminal law.
Note that the Law Library is a reference collection - there is no lending collection, no-one may borrow books.

The Law Library is in the process of changing from one shelf mark system to another - you will probably find most useful books have shelfmarks beginning KM500 to KM700 or Crim - but don't feel limited to these, do not feel diffident about exploring different shelfmarks, go where your research interest takes you.

KM books are on the floor at which you enter the library (level 2) while Crim are shelved on the floor above Level 3.  The Law Library's collection is over 4 floors - and there might be relevant material for criminologists on all four - please feel free to ask a librarian for directions when you are in the library.