How you link your search terms together is important, There are 3 main ways:
If you link terms with AND, they must all be present. Eg. cats AND dogs will only find records containing both. Adding further terms using AND makes your search narrower, as more terms must be present.
Some databases assume AND if you enter multiple terms. Sometimes you have to select it from a dropdown box. Sometimes "all my words" or similar is used
If you link terms with OR, records containing any of the terms will be found, Eg cats OR dogs will find record containing either cats or dogs (or both). Adding further terms linked with OR makes your search wider. Using OR is one way to search for synonyms, singular/plural etc You may need to select OR from a dropdown box. Sometimes "any of my words" or similar is used
Using NOT in your search will exclude a term. Eg child* NOT childish would find records containing child, children, childhood but exclude childish. NOT is another way of making your search more precise
Whether you are searching SOLO, Google or a bibliographic database such as Web of Science, there are many ways to make your search more efficient and effective.
It's worth spending a bit of time planning you search, for example:
Synonyms. Are there alternative ways of expressing your search term? Searching for teenagers? Try also adolescents, young adults. Some databases include a thesaurus to help you to find preferred terms
Alternative spellings. Could your term have more than one spelling, eg colour, color? Some databases search for alternative spellings, in others you have to enter both or use a wildcard.
Wildcards. These enable you to find include terms with a common stem. One character, often * represents a number of unknown characters, eg. child* will find child, children, childhood etc. ? is often used to represent a single unknown letter, eg. wom?n will find woman and women
Phrases. Some databases assume multiple words are a phrase. In many, including Google, you need to enclose your phrase in "quotation marks" Sometimes, eg. SOLO, there may be a dropdown box allowing you to specify your search terms as a phrase
You can refine your basic search in various ways, either when entering it or when viewing results. Typical ways to refine or limit a search are:
When viewing search results, ways of further refining them are often shown on the left side of the screen, eg. as on SOLO
This page gives you general searching tips, but you will need to find out how they work for your chosen database or search engine. Look for:
Please contact the Library if you would like more help in searching or using a specific database.