Skip to main content

Sustainable Urban Development: Finding articles

A guide to resources for students studying for the MSc in Sustainable Urban Development.

Key e-Journals

Here's a sample of e-journals available for Sustainable Urban Development

You'll need to use your Single Sign On to view them if you are not connected to the Oxford network.

Bibliographic databases

SCOPUS 

SCOPUS is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. It includes Geobase, a multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for subjects including development studies, ecology and human geography.

Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)

A good tool for citation searching (tracking where an article has been cited) It includes:

  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index (both Science & Social Science with Humanities)
  • Science Citation Index (ISI)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
  • Journal Citation Reports

ProQuest

Host site for a large number of databases which may be searched separately or in combination

  • Ecology Abstracts
  • EconLit
  • Environment Abstracts
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
  • Environmental Impact Statements
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
  • PAIS
  • Pollution Abstracts
  • Sustainability Science Abstracts
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

International coverage including architecture and city planning

Finding journal articles on your topic

Quick/basic searches

You can use the Articles search on SOLO  to find articles on your topic - select 'Articles' from the drop-down list in the main SOLO search box.  

You can also search for journal articles in Google Scholar and use the 'Find it @ Oxford' link to the to access electronic versions. Google Scholar is the largest database of scholarly literature and gives you quick, relevant results,however it lacks search tools and can sometimes produce too many results. For more structured searching we recommend that you use a bibliographic database ( see box on this page).These are searchable catalogues of journal articles and often also include additional material such as  conference papers, research reports, statistics, and more. Most databases are linked to Oxford holdings - look for the 'Find it @ Oxford' link.

If you know the title of the database you wish to use, you can search for it directly in the SOLO search box. If you wish to browse what is available go to Databases A-Z, click on the field labelled 'All Subjects', then select your subject.

For further help using Databases A-Z , see :SOLO: tips for browsing

You'll need to use your Single Sign On to search bibliographic databases if you are not connected to the Oxford network

Keep up to date: TOCs & Alerts

JournalTocs

The JournalTOCs Tables of Contents service makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by allowing you to find thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

Zetoc

This 'alerting service' from the British Library provides  access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings. The Zetoc database covers 1993 to date, and is updated daily.

You can search for journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email alerts.

  Google Scholar tips

Google Scholar logo    

Here are some tips to get the best out of Google Scholar:

  • Use as many relevant keywords as possible when searching.
  • If you have a phrase "put it in quotation marks"
  • Use a minus sign before a word to exclude it from the search.
  • On campus you will have links to 'Find it at Oxford', off campus you can activate these by searching for Oxford on the Library Links option in Scholar Preferences.
  • If you use Endnote or Refworks you can set these as your bibliographic manager preference in Scholar Preferences.

 

Reference management

You may wish to consider using reference management software to organise and store your references and to format citations and bibliographies in your work.

Oxford supports EndNote and RefWorks. You can find out about these and other free tools in the guide:

Managing your References

Bodleian Libraries run workshops on reference management (as well as many other topics). If you are not in Oxford to attend workshops, you can view presentations and handouts from them.