Skip to main content

Sciences for Continuing Education: Neuroscience and Psychology

A guide to Library resources for the Sciences

Journals

The Rewley House Continuing Education Library subscribes to a number of printed journals in counselling and psychotherapy including:

  • British Journal of Guidance & Counselling
  • British Journal of Psychotherapy
  • European Journal of Psychotherapy & Counselling
  • International Journal of Psychoanalysis
  • International Journal of Psychotherapy
  • Psychodynamic Practice (previously Psychodynamic Counselling)
  • Therapy Today

A much wider selection of electronic journals is available through PCs in the Library and in the Resource Room at Ewert House. Titles include:

Behavioural brain research

International journal of neuroscience

Nature neuroscience

Psychology today

Finding articles

Try the following bibliographic databases for a structured literature search:

PsycINFO

Medline

PubMed

Also try:

SCOPUS

Web of Science

Freely available articles

The following are open access sources:

Hindawi Publishing - Hindawi publishes 437 peer-reviewed, open access journals in Science, Technology and Medicine as well as the Social Sciences

PubMed includes some open access material

Public Library resources

Reference material

Most public library authorities give members access to a range of online reference material. You can access much of this at home using your public library card.

Oxfordshire's Reference Online resources include:

  • Credo Reference
  • Oxford Reference Online (a collection of OUP reference works)

Other public library services will provide similar resources. Find your local library service on the UK.Gov website https://www.gov.uk/local-library-services

Journal articles

Access to Research logoAccess to Research is an initiative which provides free access to academic e-journals in public libraries. Note that you cannot access them at home, only in libraries. You can find a full list of participating libraries as well as information about the journals included on the Access to Research website http://www.accesstoresearch.org.uk/

Free online resources

You can find many good quality, free resources on the internet. Here are a few suggestions to get you started:

Public Library resources

Reference material

Most public library authorities give members access to a range of online reference material. You can access much of this at home using your public library card.

Oxfordshire's Reference Online resources include:

  • British Library Newspapers Collection (nineteenth century Britian)
  • Grove Art Online and Grove Music Online
  • Litfinder world literature collection
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
  • Oxford Reference Online (a collection of OUP reference works)
  • Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

Other public library services will provide similar resources. Find your lcoal library service on the UK.Gov website https://www.gov.uk/local-library-services

Journal articles

Access to Research logoAccess to Research is an initiative which provides free access to academic e-journals in public libraries. Note that you cannot access them at home, only in libraries. You can find a full list of partcipating libraries as well as information about the journals included on the Access to Research website http://www.accesstoresearch.org.uk/

Public Library resources

Reference material

Most public library authorities give members access to a range of online reference material. You can access much of this at home using your public library card.

Oxfordshire's Reference Online resources include:

  • British Library Newspapers Collection (nineteenth century Britian)
  • Grove Art Online and Grove Music Online
  • Litfinder world literature collection
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
  • Oxford Reference Online (a collection of OUP reference works)
  • Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

Other public library services will provide similar resources. Find your lcoal library service on the UK.Gov website https://www.gov.uk/local-library-services

Journal articles

Access to Research logoAccess to Research is an initiative which provides free access to academic e-journals in public libraries. Note that you cannot access them at home, only in libraries. You can find a full list of partcipating libraries as well as information about the journals included on the Access to Research website http://www.accesstoresearch.org.uk/

Continuing Education collections

Books for Psychology and Neuroscience are on the lower floor of the Library. Reference books such as dictionaries and encyclopedias can be found in the Jessup Reading Room. Key numbers are:

150 General psychology 158 Applied psychology
150.195 Psychoanalysis 158.3 Counselling
150.1952 Sigmund Freud 158.7 Psychology of work
150.1954 Carl Jung 611.8 Anatomy of the nervous system
152 Neurophysiology, sensory perception 612.8 Neuroscience
153 Consciousness, cognition 612.82 The brain
154 Subconsciousness 616.89 Abnormal psychology
155 Developmental psychology 616.8914 Psychotherapy

E-books

Many e-books purchased by Bodleian Libraries are available and can be found on SOLO. You can access the content of these on PCs in the Library or in the Resource room at Ewert House. For more information about e-books, see Finding books

Here is a selection of titles:

Free online resources

You can find many good quality, free resources on the internet. Here are a few suggestions to get you started: