Skip to main content

Oxfordshire History for Continuing Education: Getting started

A guide to finding resources on the history of Oxford and Oxfordshire

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students studying Local History at Oxford University Department for Continuing Education, although of course anyone wishing to research the history of Oxford and Oxfordshire may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about the print collections for Oxfordshire history in the Rewley House Continuing Education Library and Oxford University's subscription electronic resources such as e-books, e-journals, bibliographic databases etc. It also contains information on resources held by external organisations. You'll also find some tips on searching library resources effectively.

Select the tabs above to find more information about:

  How to find things

Search SOLO to find books, e-books, journal articles and journal titles.

Use Databases A-Z to find and connect to bibliographic databases and online resources.

You will find more information on searching for library resources on the library website.

Can't find what you are looking for? Please contact the library for assistance.

Who can use which resources?

Weekly class students

Students enrolled on a Continuing Education weekly class which includes a written assignment can:

  • register to borrow books from the Continuing Education Library.
  • access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from within the university network, for example in the Library or in the resources room at Ewert House. Weekly class students cannot access subscription resources from home, but there are many free online resources available.

Students on award-bearing courses

Students enrolled on an award-bearing Continuing Education course, such as undergraduate and postgraduate certificates and diplomas and Masters degrees, can:

  • register to borrow books from the Continuing Education Library.
  • become a member of other Oxford University libraries such as the Sackler Library, History Faculty Library and the Bodleian.
  • access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from any internet connection using your Single Sign On.

Other members of the University

Staff and students of the University who are not members of the Continuing Education Department may use the Library for reference. Short loans may be made in exceptional circumstances: please ask at the Library desk.

For more information about joining the Library see the Library website.

Are you interested in Local History in general?

Have a look at the guide:

Local History for Continuing Education

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

Susan Wilkin's picture
Susan Wilkin
Contact:
Rewley House Continuing Education Library,
1, Wellington Square OX1 2JA
(01865) 270454
Website

Library news

Loading ...