Oxford LibGuides: Oxfordshire History for Continuing Education: Further research

British History Online

British History Online Contains much free information, but additional content can be viewed if you access it through Databases A-Z.

Of particular interest:

Full text access to available online volumes of the Victoria County History for Oxfordshire and Berkshire
Ordnance Survey 1:10,560 and 1:2.500 Epoch 1 maps for Oxfordshire and Berkshire

Oxfordshire History Centre

The Oxfordshire History Centre, based in Cowley, holds the county archives and record office, and the local studies library.

See the Oxfordshire History Centre website for more information about the collections held, and services available.

Some useful websites

Investigating Oxford's Heritage
Site managed by Oxford City Council with links to documents, events, organisations and research tools
Oxford Archaeology Online Library
A growing repository of reports and archives for projects carried out by Oxford Archaeology
Oxford College Archives
Website of the Oxford Archivists' Consortium. Gives brief descriptions of archives held in Oxford Colleges with links to individual College websites. Also includes some general sources for researching the history of the University.
Oxford Historical Society
The Society exists to publish archives, historical texts, bibliographical tools and studies about Oxford – the City as much as the University, its Halls and Colleges – and the neighbouring villages and towns in pre-1972 Oxfordshire.
Oxfordshire Historic Landscape Characterisation Project
This project, funded by Historic England, maps current and past land use across Oxfordshire.
Oxfordshire Local History Association
OLHA is for everyone interested in the history of our county. We foster and promote the study and publication of local history and act as an umbrella organisation for local history groups, of which there are more than 80 in Oxfordshire. We also campaign to preserve and improve services for Oxfordshire local historians.
Oxfordshire Record Society
The Society's objectives are to publish transcripts, abstracts and lists of the primary sources for the history of the County of Oxfordshire and generally to stimulate interest in archives relating to Oxfordshire.
Soldiers of Oxfordshire Museum
Based in Woodstock, this museum tells the story of the military in Oxfordshire. The museum offers a research service