Skip to main content

Oxfordshire History for Continuing Education: Continuing Education Collections

A guide to finding resources on the history of Oxford and Oxfordshire

Journals

The Library has current subscriptions to the following key Oxfordshire journal titles in print format:

  • Cake and Cockhorse (Banbury Historical Society) 2006-
  • Oxfordshire Local History 1980-
  • Oxfordshire Record Society 1926-
  • Oxoniensia 1936- Duplicates of most issues are available and may be borrowed by readers with borrowing rights.
  • Wychwoods History

All our journals are catalogued on SOLO. You can also view a complete list in the Library or on our website

Journals are all for use in the Library only. Current issues are displayed on the periodical stand in the Reading Room while back issues may be found in the Local Collection area of the Library.

For more information on e-journals and finding articles, select the Finding Articles page

From the Local Collection:

Books

The Library has a separate Local Collection of secondary material on all subjects relating to Oxfordshire. The collection also contains some items relating to Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. These items are marked (Local Collection) after the shelfmark on SOLO. Books may be borrowed by readers with borrowing rights at the Library. Local Collection pamphlets and oversized books are shelved within the Local Collection area.

General books on the method of studying local history are on the lower floor of the Library under the following classification numbers (Dewey Decimal Classification):

941.0072 General local history method 941.0073 Studying handwriting and manuscripts
941.00721-9 Studying different types of record 941.0074 Latin for Local Historians

 

Books about Oxford
                                                     © K.T.Bruce

Reference Books

The following reference books are shelved in the Reading Room, as well as other bibliographies, dictionaries and encyclopaedias:

Oxford companion to family and local history* 941.0072 HEY (Q/REF)
Encyclopaedia of Oxford 941.572 HIB  (Q/REF)

* Also available online , Single Sign On required for remote access

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and theses written by Continuing Education Local History students are available for consultation in the Library. Recent years are shelved under the stairs in the Lower Library, ask staff for older titles. A list of titles held is available in the Library.

Many of these dissertations are also listed in: 

Oxford University Local History Dissertations 1980-2005 /Kate Tiller. 941.0072 TIL (Local Collection Pamphlet). This is an offprint from Oxoniensia v.LXXI 2006

 

For more information on searching for theses in general, please select the Finding Theses tab

 

Victoria County History

The Library has print copies of the volumes for Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire in the Local Collection. For Oxfordshire, there are additional copies of some volumes which you can borrow if you have borrowing rights for the Library.

The VCH is also freely available online