Skip to main content

Music for Continuing Education: Books

This guide is intended for students studying Music at Oxford University Department for Continuing Education.

Key resources

Scan and Deliver

Scan and Deliver is the name of a new service offered by the Bodleian Libraries which offers electronic document delivery for items held in closed storage. Instead of requesting these items to a reading room, users can request electronic scans of sections of material (e.g book chapters of journal articles) to be delivered direct to their computer desktop.

The service is available to all the University card holders. Restrictions and charges apply. Further information can be found here.

Purchase suggestions

If you would like to recommend an item for purchase by the Library, please fill in the Bodleian Libraries Resources Request Form.

Please note that it may not be possible to purchase all recommendations, depending on availability and cost.

How to find books on SOLO

You can locate books (both print and electronic) held in Oxford University libraries by looking them up on SOLO, Oxford libraries' catalogue,  at http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk.  

You can use the search box on the left to get started, or follow the link above

Are you looking for a specific book?

Enter the author's surname and a few significant words from the title. Leave out words like 'the', 'an', 'of' etc

Are you only interested in books held by the Rewley House Continuing Education Library?

On the main SOLO search screen, click 'All libraries/Collections' and select 'Continuing Education Library' from the dropdown box

For more information on searching SOLO, see the SOLO Guide. There is an additional guide for finding Music materials.

Browsing your subject in the Continuing Education Library

Books of interest to Music students are shelved in the Lower Library under the following classification numbers (Dewey Decimal Classification):

780.9 History of Music        781.65    Jazz
780.92    Music Analysis 781.71 Church Music
780.92 Musicians 782 Opera
781 Music Theory 782-784 Songs
781.6 Rock Music 784 Musical Instruments
781.6 Traditions of Music 784.2 Orchestral Music
781.64 Popular Music 785 Chamber Music

 

Oversize books are located in the Lower Library (001 – 939) and pamphlets can be found in the Lower Library (001-999).

Reference Books in the Continuing Education Library

The following reference books are shelved in the Reading Room, as well as other bibliographies, dictionaries and encyclopaedias:

Illustrated Dictionary of Music Terms 780 HEA Q/REF
Larousse Encyclopedia of Music 780.09 LAR Q/REF
The Oxford Dictionary of Music 780 OXF Q/REF
The Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments 784.19 OXF Q/REF
The New Oxford Companion to Music 780 OXF Q/REF
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 780 GRO Q/REF

Scores

A collection of scores is located in the Lower Library and available for loan. The scores are not catalogued and because of this can not be found on SOLO. Readers are welcome to go to the shelves and browse.

Other Oxford University Music collections

Students on award-bearing courses - undergraduate and postgraduate certificate and diploma courses and Masters courses - may use other Oxford University libraries.

For more information on Music collections, see the Music Subject Guide on the Bodleian Libraries website.

The main library collections for Music are:

Searching beyond Oxford?

There may be times when you wish to consult library catalogues beyond Oxford University. This may be because:

  • You need to conduct a thorough literature review
  • You wish to know if an item is available in a library nearer to home
  • You would like to know if an item is available in the public library system

The following links may be useful (note that finding an item does not guarantee you access to the library holding it):