Skip to Main Content

Local History: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Local History in the Department of Continuing Education at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Local History, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for Local History

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Local History and a wide range of libraries with printed books, including the main library for the Local History courses, the Continuing Education Library.  For more detailed information about our book collections visit the books page of this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals in the field of Local History and there is more information on the journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, books, images, data and more. You can find the key databases for Local History below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Free online resources

Many of the key resources for Local History are freely available online - see the Free Online Resources page of this guide for more details.

Archives and primary sources

Use the archives and primary sources page of this guide for Information and links to help you find and use archives and primary sources.

Maps

Use the maps page of this guide for information about finding maps and links to sources for online maps.

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

The Library

Contact info

Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA

Tel.01865 270454

Email library@conted.ox.ac.uk

Related guides

Key Libraries