A very simple and basic definition: Linguistics = the study of language as a method of human communication. It includes the study of grammar and syntax, phonetics and phonology, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, dialectology, computational linguistics, comparative linguistics, structural linguistics, applied linguistics and second language learning.
Search SOLO to find books, e-books and journal titles.
Use Databases A-Z to search bibliographic databases, online resources and individual e-journals.
You will find more information on searching for library resources under Finding Resources on the library website.
Can't find what you are looking for? Please contact the library for assistance.
A glossary of linguistic terms for the serious student at http://www-01.sil.org/linguistics/GlossaryOfLinguisticTerms/Index.htm.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics is accessible online via SOLO.
The symbols of the International Phonetic Alphabet and the sounds they represent can be found here: http://www.internationalphoneticalphabet.org/ipa-sounds/ipa-chart-with-sounds/.
This guide is intended for students studying Linguistics and language-related subjects at Oxford University Department for Continuing Education, although of course others may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about the print collections for Linguistics in the Rewley House Continuing Education Library and also about electronic resources such as e-books, e-journals, bibliographic databases etc. You'll also find some tips on searching library resources effectively.
Select the tabs above to find more information about:
The Library is open to all members of the University for reference purposes. Borrowing is normally restricted to students and staff of OUDCE. Short loans may be made in exceptional circumstances, please ask at the Library desk
For undergraduate and postgraduate courses in Linguistics see http://www.mod-langs.ox.ac.uk/ and http://www.ling-phil.ox.ac.uk/. An MSc in Applied Linguistics and Second Language Acquisition is offered by the Faculty of Education (see http://www.ox.ac.uk/admissions/graduate/courses/msc-applied-linguistics-and-second-language-acquisition).
The Oxford University Language Centre, 12, Woodstock Road, is a university-wide service. Find out more at http://www.lang.ox.ac.uk/.