Skip to Main Content

History for Continuing Education: Oxford's online resources

A guide to resources for History.

Oxford's Online Resources

Oxford subscribes to a wide range of online resources which are available to students with an Oxford Single Sign on (SSO) from home. To browse the full list of these resources use the Databases A-Z

If you do not have an Oxford Single Sign on (SSO) please see the 'Free online resources' tab.

If you are looking for a specific ebook or articles please see the tabs for 'books' or 'journals' instead.

Please find below information about resources including

 

Online resources for literature searching

You can search for books, articles, conference papers, other publications and dissertations using SOLO, Google Scholar or Bibliographical Databases.   Below you will find some brief notes about each of these tools followed by a list of bibliographical databases for History.   For a more detailed comparison of the pro's and cons of SOLO, Google Scholar and Bibliographical Databases as literature searching tools please see the 'Search Tips' tab.

Key Bibliographical Databases

Primary Sources Databases

Primary sources are original documents created or experienced contemporaneously with the event being researched. The following databases contain primary sources.

Data and statistics

The following datadases contain valuable data for historical research.

Archives

Many Archives can be accessed from Databases A-Z, some examples are

Encyclopaedias & dictionaries

Oxford Bibliographies Online