Skip to main content

Film Studies for Continuing Education: Oxford's online resources

A guide to resources for Film Studies

Key resources

Subscription resources

Online resources include e-books, journals and databases. Some online resources are freely accessible to anyone with an internet connection. Others require a paid subscription, but students and staff of Oxford University have access to many of these resources via the University's subscription.

Students who have a Single Sign On can access subscription resources from home. Weekly class students can access these resources from within the Library, or the resources room at Ewert House.

You can search for and access e-resources using SOLO and Databases A-Z.

Finding Film resources

Please see the following guides for more information on resources for Film Studies:

Film Studies: a short guide to Bodleian Libraries' resources for Film Studies

This guide includes information on:

  • Film Collections in the Bodleian Libraries
  • How to find print and e-books
  • How to find journal articles and film review
  • How to find screenplays and scores
  • Useful websites for Film Studies 

 Using SOLO to finding Film Studies materials

This guide includes tips on how to search SOLO for Film materials, and provides a guide to the classification system used for Film Studies by most Bodleian Libraries.

Remote access

To access e-books and Databases A-Z off campus:

Sign in using your Single Sign On. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 

The Single Sign On is available to all students on award bearing courses who hold a full University card

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

E-Book collections

There are many full-text e-books on Film Studies available via a number of e-book platforms as the following ones:

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences.

The e-books LibGuide gives help on finding and using e-books.