Skip to main content

Environmental Management for Continuing Education: Databases

A guide to resources for students of Environmental Management

Key Bibliographic Databases

Here are some of the key bibliographic databases for Environmental Conservation.

To find more, go to Databases A-Z, click the Subject tab and scroll down to select Geography and the Environment.

Why use databases?

Databases can help you to search for relevant resources. There are two main kinds of database you're likely to come across:

  • Bibliographic databases
  • Full-text databases

Bibliographic databases index the titles and abstracts of journal articles, books and conference papers. They are useful for conducting a structured literature search across a large range of publications. You can check which publications are included in the search. Though the databases themselves usually don't include the full text, most databases are linked to Oxford holdings so you can easily find out how to access any articles you are interested in. Look for the 'Find it @ Oxford' link.

Full-text databases allow you to access and search the full text of literary and critical works. You could, for example, search for every use of a particular word within the works of a given author. 

Finding databases

If you know which database you want to use (for example, one of those listed on the left) you can search for a database by title on either SOLO or Databases A-Z.

If you'd like to find out which databases are available, you can browse by subject in Databases A-Z. Relevant subject headings include Geography and the Environment, Plant Sciences and Biological Sciences.

Full text databases

Here are some key full-text databases for students of Environmental Conservation.

To find more, go to Databases A-Z click the Subject tab and scroll down to select Geography and the Environment.