Skip to main content

English Literature for Continuing Education: Continuing Education Collections

Video/DVD Film collection

The Library's film collection includes feature films based on literary works. More recent purchases are DVDs, but a large part of the collection is on video.

Films may be borrowed by members of the Department for Continuing Education and are in addition to your book loan allowance. Films are on closed access, please ask at the Library Desk. There is also a video and DVD player available in the Library.

Only films added during the last few years are listed on SOLO. A full list can be found on the Library website.

The Library also has a number of dramatisations of literary works on DVD and video, for example, BBC adaptations. Recent items are listed on SOLO, a full list is on the Library website.

Use Film Studies for Continuing Education LibGuide to find out about books/online resources for Film Studies, including ebooks, ejournals, bibliographic databases.

For a fully comprehensive guide check Film Studies LibGuide created by Helen Scott, Film Studies Subject Librarian.

Shakespeare

For more information about our Shakespeare collections and e-resources for Shakespeare, please see the Library website

Books

Books of interest to English Literature students are shelved on the lower floor of the Library under the following classification numbers (Dewey Decimal Classification):

801 Literary theory and criticism 823 English fiction
810 American literature 824 English essays
820   English literature 828 English diaries
821 English poetry 829 Old English and Anglo-Saxon Literature
822 English drama    

Separate sequences of Oversize books and Pamphlets are located on the lower floor of the Library before the main book sequence begins.

Critical works about an author are shelved immediately after works by the author. For example, books by Charles Dickens are at 823.8 DIC, a book about Dickens by Smith would be at 823.8 DIC/S.

Reference Books

The following reference books are shelved in the Reading Room, as well as other bibliographies, dictionaries and encyclopaedias:

Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable  808.8 BRE (Q/REF)
Collins Biographical Dictionary of English Literature 820 DRA (Q/REF)
Glossary of Literary Terms 801.95 ABR (Q/REF)
Oxford Companion to English Literature 820 DRA (Q/REF)

Journals

The Library has current subscriptions to the following key English Literature journal titles in print format:

  • Essays in Criticism, 1980-
  • London Review of Books, most recent 2 years
  • New York Review of Books, most recent 2 years
  • Poetry Review, 1997-
  • Times Literary Supplement, most recent 2 years

All our journals are catalogued on SOLO.

Journals are all for use in the Library only. Current issues are displayed on the periodical stand in the Reading Room. Back issues of essays in criticism and Poetry Review may be found in the Literature sequence of the periodicals section in the Lower Library. Back issues of the other titles listed are kept in the cupboards in the Reading Room.

Many e-journals are available for English Literature. For more information, select the Journal Articles page