Skip to main content

English Literature for Continuing Education: Journal articles

Key e-Journals

Here's a sample of e-journals available for English Literature.

Bibliographic Databases

Here are some of the key bibliographic databases for English

To find more, go to Databases A-Z, click the All Subjects tab and scroll down to select English.

  Finding specific journal articles

If you're looking for a particular journal article,  you can search for it using the 'Articles' tab on SOLO. Enter some details of the author and title of the article. This search will find articles available electronically.

If you don't find the article, or you wish to search for printed journals, search for the journal title using the default 'Oxford Collections' tab on SOLO

SOLO will find references to both print and electronic journals. You can access e-journals from the PCs in the Library or any other PC on the University network. If you have a University card, you can access e-journals from any internet connection using your Single Sign On.

Finding articles on your topic: quick ways to search

 You can use the Journal Articles search on SOLO  to find articles on your topic - just click the 'Articles' tab and enter your search. You will be able to access many articles online. You can use all the usual SOLO tools for refining your search, sorting results and you can save results to your e-Shelf. For more information, see the SOLO Guide

You can also search for journal articles in Google Scholar and use the 'Find it @ Oxford' link to the to access electronic versions. Scholar is the largest database of scholarly literature and gives you quick, relevant results. However, Google are not transparent about how they rank their results and their policies are driven by advertising revenue, so there may be a bias in which results are displayed first.

More thorough literature searches

For more structured literature searching you should use a bibliographic database. These act as subject indexes to journals and often include conference papers, research reports, book extracts etc. as well. Most databases are linked to Oxford holdings - look for the 'Find it @ Oxford' link.

If you know the title of the database you wish to use (for example one from the list on the left) you can search for it on SOLO. To browse a list of available bibliographic databases, go to Databases A-Z, click on the All Subjects tab, scroll down and select English. Select All DatabaseTypes, chose any of the options and then click Go.

Using a bibliographic databases enables you to conduct a more precise search. You can also check the coverage of the database. Make use of on screen help and links to help text, Tutorials etc to get the best out of a database.

Can't I just search JSTOR?

Image of JSTOR logoJSTOR is a multi-disciplinary, full text archive of key scholarly journals. It is a very useful resource as you can use it to search for articles on your topic, but remember:

  • JSTOR does not contain the latest issues,  you will need to look elsewhere for the most recent 3-5 years
  • JSTOR does not cover every journal title to which you have access: it is only one of many suppliers from which the University purchases subscription content.

  Google Scholar tips

Google Scholar logo    

Here are some tips to get the best out of Google Scholar:

  • Use as many relevant keywords as possible when searching.
  • If you have a phrase "put it in quotation marks"
  • Use a minus sign before a word to exclude it from the search.
  • On campus you will have links to 'Find it at Oxford', off campus you can activate these by searching for Oxford on the Library Links option in Scholar Preferences.
  • If you use Endnote or Refworks you can set these as your bibliographic manager preference in Scholar Preferences.

 

  Remote access

To access electronic journals and Databases A-Z off campus:

Sign on to SOLO using your Single Sign On. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 

The Single Sign On is available to all students on award bearing courses who hold a full University card

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access.