Skip to main content

Art History for Continuing Education: Finding theses

A guide to resources for Art History.

ORA (Oxford University Research Archive)

ORA contains a growing collection of digital copies of successful Oxford theses submitted as part of research degree awards. The full content of as many theses as possible are made freely available to be accessed via the Internet. They should be used in accordance with the Terms and Conditions of Use. More information about thesis on ORA http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/ora/oxford_etheses

 

Finding Oxford Theses

SOLO logo

You can search for Oxford MPhil and DPhil art theses on SOLO. Simply search for "oxford thesis art" plus any keywords if you are interested in a particular subject.

DPhil theses can be requested on SOLO from the Bodleian Bookstack to the Weston Library for consultation.

 

Dissertations and theses from other universities

UK Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses UK and Ireland

Index to Theses searches for theses across UK universities as far back as 1716

EThOS

EThOS is a British Library project to digitise and make available UK theses.

At this time Oxford theses are not available electronically via EThos but some can be found on ORA (the Oxford Research Archive).

US Dissertations and Theses

Proquest Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and Theses contains 2.7 million records dating back to 1637, some of which are available in full text. The Humanities and Social Sciences Full text collection  will probably be the most useful.

More information

For more information about finding theses, see the Bodleian Libraries website.