Skip to main content

Art History for Continuing Education: Finding articles

A guide to resources for Art History.

Key e-Journals

Here's a sample of e-journals available for Art History.

You'll need to use your Single Sign On to view them if you are not connected to the Oxford network

Key Bibliographic Databases

Here are some of the key bibliographic databases for Art.

To find more, go to Databases A-Z, click the Subject tab and scroll down to select Art.

  Finding specific journal articles

If you're looking for a particular journal article,  you can search for the journal title in SOLO. SOLO will find references to both print and electronic journals. You can also search for journal articles using the Articles & More tab on SOLO

You can access e-journals from the PCs in the Library or any other PC on the University network. If you have a University card, you can access e-journals from any internet connection using your Single Sign On

Finding articles on your topic: quick ways to search

A SOLO search will return a mixture of books, journals and articles in both print and electronic formats. To look for just articles, click on "Search everything" and select "Articles" from the drop-down menu. You can use all the usual SOLO tools for refining your search, sorting results and you can save results to your e-Shelf. For more information, see the SOLO Guide.

You can also search for journal articles in Google Scholar and use the 'Find it @ Oxford' link to the to access electronic versions. Scholar can give quick, relevant results. However, it's worth being aware that Google changes your search in ways that are not transparent. For example, it personalises your results by showing pages similar to others you have already looked at, searches for synonyms of some of your search terms, and leaves other terms out.

Can't I just search JSTOR?

   Image result for jstor JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary, full text archive of key scholarly journals. It is a very useful resource as you can use it to search for articles on your topic, but remember:

  • JSTOR does not contain the latest issues,  you will need to look elsewhere for the most recent 3-5 years
  • JSTOR does not cover every journal title ever published

Remote access

To access e-books and Databases A-Z off campus:

Sign in using your Single Sign On. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 

The Single Sign On is available to all students on award bearing courses who hold a full University card

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

  Google Scholar tips

Google Scholar logo    

Here are some tips to get the best out of Google Scholar:

  • Use as many relevant keywords as possible when searching.
  • If you have a phrase "put it in quotation marks"
  • Use a minus sign before a word to exclude it from the search.
  • On campus you will have links to 'Find it at Oxford', off campus you can activate these by searching for Oxford on the Library Links option in Scholar Preferences.
  • If you use Endnote or Refworks you can set these as your bibliographic manager preference in Scholar Preferences.