Skip to main content

Archaeology for Continuing Education: Archaeology on the Web

A guide to resources for Archaeology

Archaeology Data Service

Archaeology Data Service

Based at the University of York the aim of the Archaeology Data Service (ADS) is to collect, describe, catalogue, preserve, and provide user support for digital resources that are created as a product of archaeological research.

ADS includes full text access to key archaeological journals, CBA Research reports and over 7,000 unpublished fieldwork reports

CBA - Council for British Archaeology

The CBA is an educational charity working throughout the UK to involve people in archaeology and to promote the appreciation and care of the historic environment for the benefit of present and future generations. News, information, publications and much more

 

Historic England

Historic England logo

The Historic England (formerly English Heritage) website includes links to the Historic England Archive  where you can access photographs, reports from the Royal Commission on Historic Monuments and the full text of many Historic England Research Reports

Oxford resources

Bodleian Libraries subscription resources for Archaeology can be accessed via the Databases A-Z . Scroll down the subject listings on the left side of the screen and select Archaeology. You will need your Single Sign On to access most of these resources if you are not connected to the Oxford network, although some important free sites are included as well.

For more information on using databases, see the guide : Discovering E-Resources

Resources include:

Free resources

There are many high quality information sources on the internet.  Key sites are shown in the boxes on the left, others include:

  Remote access

To access e-books and databases off campus:

Sign on to SOLO, or the Databases A-Z using your Single Sign On. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 

The Single Sign On is available to all students on award bearing courses who hold a full University card

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.