Skip to main content

Archaeology for Continuing Education: Continuing Education Collections

A guide to resources for Archaeology

Journals

The Library has current subscriptions to the following key Archaeological journal titles in print format:

  • British Archaeology 1995-
  • Current Archaeology 1967-
  • Landscapes 2003-
  • Medieval Archaeology 1957-
  • Oxford Journal of Archaeology Latest 3 years
  • Oxoniensia 1936- current 

All our journals are catalogued on SOLO. You can also view a complete list in the Library or on our website

Journals are all for use in the Library only. Current issues are displayed on the periodical stand in the Reading Room while back issues may be found in the Archaeology sequence of the periodicals section in the Lower Library.

Many e-journals are available for Archaeology. For more information, select the Finding Articles page

Books

The main strength of the collection is British Archaeology although books on Classical Archaeology will also be found

Books of interest to Archaeology students  are shelved in the Lower and Upper Library under the following classification numbers (Dewey Decimal Classification):

930-939 Ancient History to c.499 938 Ancient Greece to 323
9301.1 General Archaeology, methodology 940 History
932    Ancient Egypt 941 British history
936 Europe to c.499 941.006 History of the Landscape
937 Italian peninsular to 476

Oversize books are located in the Lower Library (001 – 939) and in the Reading Room (940 – 999) and pamphlets can be found in the Lower Library (001-999). A separate collection of books and pamphlets relating to Local History (Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire) is also available in the Upper Library (001-942.59).

Reference Books

The following reference books are shelved in the Reading Room, as well as other bibliographies, dictionaries and encyclopaedias:

British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography 016.9361 BRI (Q/REF)
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology 930.03 DAR (Q/REF)
Companion Encyclopaedia of Archaeology 930.1 BAR (Q/REF)
Handbook for British and Irish Archaeology 936.1 LAV (Q/REF)
Penguin Archaeology Guide 930.1 BAH (Q/REF)
Medieval Archaeology: an Encyclopedia 936.106 CRA (Q/REF)

 

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations, portfolios and theses written by Continuing Education Archaeology students are available for consultation in the Library. Recent years are shelved under the stairs in the Lower Library, ask staff for older titles. A list of titles held is available in the Library.

For more information on searching for theses in general, please select the Finding Theses tab