Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Clinical Medicine and printed books, including the main medicine collection at the Cairns Library In the John Radcliffe Hospital.
ORLO is the new reading list system for the University of Oxford. With ORLO, you can access up-to-date reading lists at any time from a range of devices, check live location and availability information for the items on your reading list and access many ebooks and article easily through the “View Online” button. Access ORLO through Canvas or by logging in with your SSO here. You can add your reading intentions and personal notes, which means ORLO will save you time. It is currently being used in a number of courses across divisions, and is being made more widely available in a phased rollout. If ORLO is being used for your course, please find guides below for tips on how to use ORLO.
Many of the items in ORLO have a link to Online content. Most will work fine but some may require extra log ins or the link may not load properly. If you experience any problems try clearing the cookies and cache in your browser. This guide shows how to clear cookies fromvarious browsers.
Video creators: Kat Steiner and Helen Bond. Created 5th May 2020.
The academic's permission was given to use their reading list as an example.
The Bodleian now provides access to a greatly expanded number of online textbooks in support of MSD students that you can access from anywhere.
There are thousands of individual medical ebooks available via SOLO and we also subscribe to large publisher medical ebook platforms (many of which include a range of extras such as reusable images, videos, and Q&As). Recent additions to our collections include Elsevier ClinicalKey Student, Thieme MedOne Education, and AccessMedicine.
Details of some of the larger ebook packages currently available are given below. All of these should now be working with your University Single Sign On, contact us via email@example.com if you have any problems, comments or feedback on these.
If you can’t find online access to the textbook that you need then please get in touch and we’ll do our best to help.
AccessMedicine – 130+ leading medical textbooks, including the latest editions of titles such as Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, and Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment. Also includes videos, images, case studies, and quiz banks/Q&As. https://ezproxy-prd.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/login?url=https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/
CambridgeCore e-books - includes online access 3,000+ textbooks in medicine and psychology from the CUP. https://ox.libguides.com/cambridgeeba
Cambridge textbooks - The Cambridge Health and Medicine programme focuses its book publishing in a defined set of core clinical areas to prepare students with the knowledge and skills required for professional practice. https://ezproxy-prd.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/login?url=https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/textbooks
Elsevier 3D Complete Anatomy – top quality 3D anatomy package with sections on over 17,000 structures, muscle movement, bone mapping, over 1,500 videos, over 100 lectures, industry-leading female pelvis, comparison side-by-side with radiology images, and augmented reality. https://www.elsevier.com/education/welcome-3d4medical
Elsevier ClinicalKey Student – this major medical ebook platform provides access to hundreds of well-known online medical textbooks (including Kumar & Clark!) as well as videos, images, case studies, and quiz banks/Q&As. https://ox.libguides.com/ClinicalKeyStudentLogin
LWW Health Library – the LWW Health ebook collections “Medical Education” and “Clerkship/Clinical Rotations” - these include online textbooks, videos, images, real-life case studies and quiz banks. https://ox.libguides.com/lwwhealthlibrary
Oxford Medicine Online - with 1,000+ medical titles, OMO is an interconnected collection of online medical resources which cover every stage in a medical career, from medical students and junior doctors, to resources for senior doctors and consultants. Key series available include the Oxford Textbooks, Oxford Medical Handbooks, Oxford Specialty Training and Oxford Medical Libraries. https://ezproxy-prd.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/login?url=http://oxfordmedicine.com/
SpringerLink - platform providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. https://link.springer.com/search?facet-content-type=%22Book%22&showAll=false&facet-discipline=%22Medicine+%26+Public+Health%22
Thieme MedOne Education – an online collection of illustrated full-colour downloadable textbooks from Thieme's Colour Atlases and Flexibook series. 114 textbooks, 60.000+ images, over 1,000 videos and a training tool with over 1,000 questions and answers, with a mobile application. https://ezproxy-prd.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/login?url=https://medone-education.thieme.com
QS Human anatomy QW Microbiology & Immunology
QT Physiology QX Parasitology
QU Biochemistry QY Clinical pathology
QV Pharmacology QZ Pathology
The Class Number indicates books on the subject in the Bodleian Health Care Libraries (Cairns Library and Knowledge Centre) and the Radcliffe Science Library. Please see the browsing guide for more classification starting-points.
Click here to access the current clinical reading list pages.