Skip to Main Content

Classics and Ancient History: Journals

Introduction [journals only]

A journal is a regular publication (monthly, yearly, etc.) in which you will find academic and research articles. The articles present current research and are critiqued by experts before publication, so you can be confident of their quality. The majority of journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched via SOLO, as can the individual articles within ejournals.

On this page you will find recommended journals and guidance on how to search for and access print and ejournals.

Definitions

Terms you may encounter in your research

Journal:
A regular publication of academic and research articles.

Serial:
A broad term that refers to items published in a series but the items are separate and standalone. Examples include indexes, yearbooks and some journals.

Periodical:
A regular publication that includes articles, stories and other text. Magazines and newspapers are examples of these.

Conference proceedings:
The published record of a conference.

Full-text:
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.

Platform:
This refers to the site on which you can find and access the journal.

Electronic Journals (ejournals)

Ejournals are digital manifestations of  select types of serial publications. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical works.

The following tabs list ejournal collections and platforms relevant to the study of philosophy. For those wishing to browse philosophy ejournals, we recommend visiting e-Journals A-Z, or BrowZine.

The following is a sample of ejournal collections applicable to those studying Classics at Oxford. However, as a highly interdisciplinary subject, other ejournal collections may be of relevance. We recommend visiting Databases A-Z for a full breakdown of eresource packages, including trials and new arrivals, available to Oxford University members.

Physical Journals

The following tabs list Oxford libraries with journal runs of interest to Classicists. Access rights and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.

For those wishing to learn more about searching for journals in Oxford, we recommend the following guides:

The Sackler is home to the largest open-shelf collection of Classics journals in Oxford, many of which are available to borrow to Oxford members. 

The Bodleian Library is the University's largest library, with holdings numbering several million items. It offers library use only access to many philosophy journals, the majority of which are stored offsite.
Journals stored offsite need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.

Journal abbreviations

AJA Abbreviations   
Comprehensive list of standard journal and reference works abbreviations from the American Journal of Archaeology.

Recommend a journal

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Browzine

Browzine iconBrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards.  For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide: