Skip to Main Content

Celtic: Books

Overview of collection

Library resources for the study of Celtic languages and literature are primarily located in the Taylor Institution Library.

The Celtic collection covers aspects of the linguistic, literary, cultural and archaeological traditions of the British Isles and continental Europe. The collection includes material on the general language and literature of the Celts and each of the following languages: Welsh, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic, Manx Gaelic, Cornish, Breton and Gaulish. The collection also covers some historical background, archaeology, mythology and religion. There are a significant number of Celtic periodicals and also some language learning material.

Requesting items stored offsite

Taylorian books with the location note Stored Offsite and the status Closed Stack are housed in our book storage facility, so you will need to request the book by placing a hold. Books are delivered to the library daily and can usually be borrowed, with the exception of old, rare or fragile material, and periodicals.

Bodleian books may also be requested to the Taylorian using the same hold request function. Please remember that Bodleian books are for reference use only and may not be borrowed.

Books outside Oxford

Would you like to widen your search outside of Oxford libraries? There are two key catalogues you can use to help identify relevant material from further afield. 

Find books in Oxford libraries

SOLO is the portal for searching all resources e.g books, journals and databases that are accessible through the University. When looking for a book or journal on SOLO, make sure you note the shelfmark and the location.

A variety of (sometimes confusing) shelfmarks can be found at the Taylorian, so two copies of an item may have the same shelfmark but be at different locations. Alternatively, two copies of the same book could have entirely different shelfmarks!

Always ask staff if you're not sure where to locate a particular book.

Browsing the collection

All the books in both the Teaching and Research Collections are arranged in classification schemes, with each book having its own shelfmark. The best way of locating a book is to search SOLO and note down the shelfmark, as well as the given location, e.g. Taylor Institution Library Basement Celtic LC Class.

However, if you prefer to browse the shelves, please note that there are two sequences of Celtic books:

Old in-house classification :

e.g. C.4001.132  (Syntactic change in Welsh : a study of the loss of verb-second, David Willis)

New  classification - Library of Congress scheme:

e.g. P299.N4 HIS 2013 (The history of negation  in the languages of Europe and the Mediterranean,  2 vols, David Willis et al.)

e.g. BL980.I7 W54 WIL 2016 (Ireland's immortals : a history of the gods of Irish myth, Mark Williams)

All new books go into the Library of Congress classification.

 

New books

Interested in the latest titles that have been added to the library? Take a look at our new books in the monthly spreadsheets below. You can use the filters in the spreadsheet to select the subjects you're interested in. Select the subject 'Celtic' if you want to see Celtic studies titles only. If you have suggestions for new books, please email me, janet.foot@bodleian.ox.ac.uk