Skip to Main Content

Caribbean Studies: Home

The Caribbean Studies page aim is to offer information on this subject to researchers and students. Different types of resources including books, journals, theses and films can be accessed from this page.

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students/researchers studying Caribbean Studies at the University of Oxford, although students/researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books/online resources for Caribbean Studies, including ebooks, ejournals, bibliographic databases.

Finding books for Caribbean Studies

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Caribbean Studies and printed books, including the main Latin American collection in the Bodleian Latin American Centre Library.  For more detailed information about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for Caribbean Studies but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Caribbean Studies below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Archives

The Bodleian Libraries hold a range of manuscripts and archives in print and online which are relevant to the study of the Caribbean. Below are a few key resources but for more detailed information about our archive collections visit the archives page of this guide.

Official publications

The Bodleian Libraries hold a range of official papers in print and online from principal Commonwealth countries. Below are two key resources but for more detailed information about our official publications visit the official publications page of this guide.

Other useful resources

In addition to books, journals and databases, you may be interested in our recommendations around online resources, theses, film, and some tools for research.

Rebeca Otazua (Senior Library Assistant)

Profile Photo
Rebeca Otazua
Contact:
Bodleian Latin American Centre Library
1 Church Walk
Oxford
OX2 6LY
01865 2 74483

Related guides

Key libraries

Oxford University Colleges collections:

David Nicholls Memorial Trust at Regent's Park College: it houses a large Caribbean book collection and offers awards for postgraduate research in Caribbean Studies.

More about this collection can be found here.

The Pembroke Bermuda Collection at Pembroke College.

Reading lists for Caribbean Studies