The Caribbean Studies page aim is to offer information on this subject to researchers and students. Different types of resources including books, journals, theses and films can be accessed from this page.
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
History of Science in Latin America and the Caribbean (HOSLAC) is a database of over 200 primary sources along with introductions based on the latest scholarly research. The goal of HOSLAC is to introduce scholarly and public audiences to the global phenomenon of science in its distinct Latin American contexts.
Sponsorship: The Bodleian Law Library’s subscription is generously supported by Hogan Lovells.
Alternative names: Justis ; JustisOne ; Justis One; vLex Justis
Due to licensing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
Justis One offers access to a range of law reports, transcripts and other materials from the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the Caribbean, and the EU.
In addition it includes the full text of the following: Aspinall's Maritime Law Cases, English Reports, State Trials, CCH Tax Cases, Immigration Appeal Reports, Inquest Law Reports, Mental Health Reports, Session Cases Archive, Irish Reports & Digest, Jersey Law Reports, Bermuda Law Reports, Cayman Islands Law Reports, The Singapore Law Reports, and the International Law Reports.
Justis One offers the ability to search across UK, Irish, Australian and Canadian judgements.
Also included in the service are Justis Parliament and Justis Human Rights.
The Havana Slave Trade Commission was an international court established in Cuba following a treaty between Great Britain and Spain in 1817 to bring a stop to the trans-Atlantic slave trade. Between 1824 and 1841, this court condemned 43 slave ships and issued emancipation certificates for 10,986 people arriving to the Caribbean from ports in West Africa between Bissau and Luanda. This website contains the key documentation regarding the first 43 successful convictions and provides an online space to organize, collect, store and share the scattered documentation about these cases and the Africans liberated therein. This open access resource tells the story about the capture of their slaves ships, their trials, their registration, and between 1833 and 1841, the resettlement of 3,076 Liberated Africans in British Caribbean colonies. A great resource for 19th century historians, and others interested in the Black Atlantic, slavery in Cuba, and related fields.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.
Redalyc is a full text open access archive of journals and articles across a wide range of disciplines with an Ibero-American focus. This includes material published in and about Spain, Portugal, South America and the Caribbean. Coverage runs through the sciences, social sciences and humanities, including art, literature, history and language.
Created by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México.
Ways to access subscription resources off campus:
Single Sign-On (SSO). Sign on to SOLO or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout