Skip to main content

Caribbean Studies: Books

The Caribbean Studies page aim is to offer information on this subject to researchers and students. Different types of resources including books, journals, theses and films can be accessed from this page.

New resources for Caribbean Studies

Open access ebooks

Open access publications for Caribbean materials available at:

Biblioteca Virtual Universal: collection of Spanish-language texts in .pdf format.

Caribbean Digital Library: Digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe de la red CLACSO: Open access to a collection of over 12,000 full text ebooks published by the CLACSO member institutes throughout Latin America and the Caribbean.

HathiTrust: Includes approximately 8 million volumes of digitized texts, 2 million of which are accessible in full text.

The following online encyclopedia is a useful resource:

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Finding books on Caribbean Studies

Books on Caribbean studies are found in a number of Bodleian Libraries. The Bodleian Latin American Centre Library comprise extensive  materials on the history, politics and current affairs of Caribbean countries. 

The Bodleian Library holds many titles on Caribbean studies, many of these titles are located on the stacks and can be requested to any of the listed reading rooms.  

Reference legal texts are found in the Bodleian Law Library.  The principal lending collections for undergraduates and taught postgraduates are in the Social Science Library and the History Faculty Library.  The former holding social, economic and political development since the 1960s; the latter colonial and post-colonial history of Caribbean islands.

Use SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue, to search for books by author, title or subject.

Finding chapters in edited books

SOLO also includes some records for individual chapters within edited books.  Many SOLO records for books contain tables of contents in the description field so searching anywhere in the record may also find authors and titles of chapters.
 
Other places to look for book chapters:

Bibliographic databases

Senior Library Assistant

Rebeca Otazua's picture
Rebeca Otazua
Contact:
Bodleian Latin American Centre Library
1 Church Walk
Oxford
OX2 6LY
01865 2 74483

Recommend a book

Recommend a book for the Bodleian Libraries.