Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The dictionaries below are highly respected monolingual and bilingual online sources. Essential for linguists.
Real Academia - Diccionario de la Lengua Española
The Diccionario de la lengua española de la Real Academia Española or DRAE is the most authoritative dictionary of the Spanish language. With over 85,000 entries and almost 200,000 definitions, including many referring to terms from Latin America and the Philippines, the DRAE also gives indications of usage and historical significance. An essential online reference tool for anyone working with the Spanish language.
Oxford Reference Online - Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary
Completely updated to include the very latest vocabulary, this bilingual dictionary offers authoritative coverage. Brand-new features include in-text notes on life and culture in the Spanish-speaking world. 170,000 words and phrases; 240,000 translations.
Oxford Dictionaries : Spanish - English / English - Spanish
A reliable bilingual dictionary platform from Oxford University Press. These dictionaries also give the option of listening to the pronunciation of a word, as well as offering example sentences.
You can use the subject drop-down box (highlighted below) to find a wide range of Hispanic and Latin American resources on the Databases A-Z listing. From periodical indexes to Cuban theatre archives to linguistic corpora, new resources are being added all the time. You can also search for databases using keywords - all the databases should have a description telling you what they contain. If you find an interesting resource and would like more information or advice, please contact me.