Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Testing Spanish and Latin American Language and Literature: Journals and articles

Finding journals and articles in Oxford libraries

If you are interested in finding a particular journal title, or you have a specific article reference, you can search for it directly via SOLO.  You can refine your results to show only print or electronic versions.

Alternatively, you can search for online journals directly via our E-journals A-Z listing. Please be aware that online access might only be available for selected years.

In the Taylorian, you can also browse modern languages journals in P.R.R., the reading room for SpanishPortuguese & Latin American (as well as Linguistics and Italian).  P.R.R. is on the second floor, opposite the Enquiry Room. There is also a Basement Periodicals (B.Per) section. All titles are shelved alphabetically.

If you have any difficulty locating a journal, please ask a member of staff. Print journals are for use in the library only, but photocopies may be made within copyright restrictions.

If you're interested in searching for articles on a particular topic, it's best to use a bibliographic database. Take a look at the suggestions below. 

News sources

For full details of how to find Spanish news sources, take a look at the following guide:

https://ox.libguides.com/newspapers/italyandspain 

Please ask for help if you have trouble accessing any of these. 

At the Taylorian, print copies of El País, including the latest weekend supplement, are available in the Teaching Collection during term time. Latest issues are kept in the Common Room. Newspapers may be borrowed, with the exception of the latest edition.

Spanish language newspapers and magazines are also available at the Language Centre.

Bibliographic databases

The best way to search for journal articles in your subject is to use a bibliographic database. In Oxford these are accessed through our Databases A-Z listing, where you can search for a particular database or browse by subject. Bibliographic databases contain details of thousands of journal articles, book chapters and dissertations. You can often link directly to a full text copy of an article from such a database. Below are some of the most popular options for modern languages, and for Spanish and Latin American Studies in particular.

    

Literary press & book reviews

As well as book review sections in journals, you can look at literary papers or magazines for new titles. The Taylorian has the following on display in P.R.R.

Times Literary Supplement (TLS)

Letras Libres - a literary magazine published in Mexico

Clarín: revista de nueva literatura

Ínsula - a Spanish literary magazine, published in Madrid, with occasional themed issues

Quimera: revista de literatura - a Spanish literary magazine, published in Barcelona, with occasional themed issues