Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Testing Theology: Free resources

Introduction to Open Access

There is a wealth of academic material available online for free, a selection is detailed below.

Open Access publications and data are freely available to anyone. If you would like to learn more about OA, take a look at this overview by Open Access Oxford.

Open Access Resources

Open Access in SOLO

There are some ‘open access’ digital resources which you can explore on SOLO. These are password free and you don’t need to sign in to use them.

To search SOLO for open access resources, first enter your search terms and click the magnifying glass.

On the results page, look at the options under "Show only" on the left and choose Open Access. You can further refine your results by selecting or excluding options under Resource type.

Open Access Articles

A large number of Open Access (OA) articles are available for you to explore. The resources below will help you to find eJournals and articles that are free to access and download.


Directory of Open Access Journals (Religion) (DOAJ)

  • DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. To search for journals and articles:
    • Select 'Browse Subjects',
    • Choose 'Philosophy, Psychology and Religion',
    • Select the 'View Journals/Articles' button to the right of the subject search,
    • Narrow down your search results with the drop down boxes to the left of the webpage.

Google Scholar

  • Google Scholar is a resource used to search for scholarly literature including articles, theses, abstracts and books from a variety of publishers. To carry out a search;
    • Type your search terms into the 'Google Scholar' field,
    • Select the search icon,
    • A list of results will be produced and if an item is free to view, it will appear to the right of the citation.

Open Access Digital Theological Library

  • The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
  • The link will take you to a page where the search terms have already been selected and will highlight resources related to the subject of Religion. To alter your search terms, check or uncheck boxes in the search panel to the left of the webpage.

ORA - Oxford Research Archive

  • ORA provides a single point of public access to electronic copies of peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings by Oxford authors and Oxford research theses.
  • Take a look at our ORA LibGuide to find out more.

Open Access Books

Thousands of Open Access (OA) ebooks are available for you to explore. Take a look at some of the resources below to help you find ebooks that are free to access and download.


DOAB

  • The aim of Directory of Open Access Books is to increase discoverability of Open Access titles. You can carry out a simple or advance search in the search bars provided.
  • Alternatively, If you are unsure of where to start, you can browse the collection by;
    • Selecting 'Browse',
    • Choosing 'By Subject',
    • Clicking 'Philosophy and Religion',
    • Finally selecting 'Religion'.

Google Books


JSTOR

  • JSTOR holds 6,000 Open Access ebooks from prominent publishers. Click the link to find out which books are available under the 'Religion' subject heading.
  • Note - all those that are open access have a green 'Open access' badge.
  • Alternatively use their Advanced Search option here and;
    • Place a search term in the search bar,
    • Set the Access type drop down to 'Content I can access',
    • Choose your 'Item type',
    • Select 'Search'.
  • This will return items that you can view without needing to login.

Open Access Digital Theological Library

  • The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
  • The link will take you to a page where the search terms have already been selected to take you to collections in Religion. To alter your search terms, check or uncheck boxes in the search panel to the left of the webpage.

Project Gutenberg

  • A library of over 60000 free to use eBooks available to download or read online. To search for books related to different faiths;
    • Select 'Bookshelves' from the menu to the left of the webpage,
    • Click on Religion Bookshelves,
    • Choose a faith - this will lead you to a selection of texts that are freely available.
  • This bookshelf covers a number of faiths including: Atheism, Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Latter Day Saints, Mythology and Paganism.

Open Access Databases

Oxford subscribes to a large number of Bibliographic databases and these can be found in Database A-Z . To find out how to conduct a search of databases relevant to your fild of study, take a look at the following guide:


The list below captures all of the relevant Theology and Relevant databases, however not all of these are Open Access resources. To find out which databases are OA:

  • Visit Database A-Z homepage.
  • Select 'Theology and Religion' from the subject drop down box.
  • Click the 'Go' button to load the results.
  • Scroll down the results list to find a database that has the following badge: Open access badge