What is Open Access (OA)?
OA literature is digital, online, free of charge including for those who do not have personal or institutional subscriptions to journals, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. The links below are useful for finding Open Access content for Philosophy. A list of OA publishers is available here.
- The Directory of Open Access Journals' mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, OA scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.
- Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this resource is part of the Digital Commons Network. It provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research in the field of Philosophy from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
- An archive for preprints in Philosophy of Science. Find out more about preprints here.
- Google Scholar is a resource used to search for scholarly literature including articles, theses, abstracts and books from a variety of publishers.
- Operated by Bielefel University Library, this is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free.
- Supported by the Open University and JISC, CORE’s mission is to aggregate all OA research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
Oxford Research Archive (ORA)
- ORA provides a single point of public access to electronic copies of peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings by Oxford authors and Oxford research theses. Take a look at our ORA LibGuide to find out more.
- JSTOR's collection of OA journals offers broad coverage in the field of humanities as well as other subject areas. You can create an account to access further content. This is free to do and while usually they offer up to 6 free articles each month, from now up until 31st December 2020, they are increasing the number of articles you can read online to 100.