Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Testing Sociology: Digital Archives

General

Freely available online to researchers, AMSR, a growing archive containing books, research journals, data abstracts and conference papers from the output of research over many decades, allows to explore the dynamics of change, particularly in consumer behaviour.
The search program includes data on sociology and cultural and social history, and is a source of information on trend data.

Forced Migration Online

Provides instant access to a wide variety of online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide aiming to give comprehensive information in an impartial environment and to promote increased awareness of human displacement issues to an international community of users.

Mass Observation Online

The collection includes the entire File Report sequence 1937-1972, access to all of the Day Surveys, Directives and Diaries, 1937-1942, early Mass Observation Publications and selected Topic Collection.

Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950

Covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.

Gender studies

Defining gender, 1450-1910

Collection of original source material from British and European archives useful for those studying history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective.

Women and social movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Organised around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the accessible insights of women's history.

Women in The National Archives

This collection consists of two distinct elements:
  • A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives;
  • Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories covering the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.
See e-resources for Women's Studies guide to find more.

Pop Culture

Victorian Popular CultureVictorian Popular Culture

A portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainment and the first moving pictures.

Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

Explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, Ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.

Oxford Digital Collections

Digital Bodleian

Brings together discrete collections under a single user interface, standardising the metadata for each collection to facilitate faceted browsing and searching across collections. Allows users to tag and annotate images and group together content into their own virtual collections.
To get more detailed information on how to access resources available to the Bodleian Library readers go to the Special Collections & Western Manuscripts guide "Finding Aids - Early Modern & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library".

John Jonson Collection

This John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera provides access to thousands of items, offering insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
Categories include the Booktrade, Popular Prints, 19th Century Entertainment, Crimes, Murders & Executions, and Advertising.

London

Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)

Historical Archive
1842-2003


A full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.