Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Testing Sociology: News, Data & Statistics

Bodleian Data Library

The Bodleian Data Library provides a range of services for researchers and students at the University of Oxford who need to make secondary use of statistics and data with the initial focus on the social sciences -

  • supports researchers and students in finding, accessing and using social science statistics and data;
  • manages the access and curation of restricted and sensitive datasets which may not be networked including data supplied by Eurostat;
  • offers a new data brokering and clearing house service for the acquisition of datasets by research centres in the Social Sciences Division;
  • provides consultancy services and highlights training opportunities;
  • alerts researchers to new sources of data.

For data enquiries and help please email data@bodleian.ox.ac.uk, or contact the Data Librarian direct: John Southall (tel.: 01865 285936) at the Bodleian Social Science Library.

Data Resources and Services

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

The largest social science data archive in the world offering more containing research data for US and international micro data.

OECD iLibrary

Databases, series, full-text books, statistical reference, periodicals and reports.

UK Data Archive

Acquires, curates and provides access to the UK's largest collection of social and economic data. This includes data from research projects and major studies.

UK Data Service

A unified point of access to data from Census Programme, ESDS, Secure Data Service, and others.

UN Data

A web-based data service creates a single-entry point for international statistical databases where users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. 

World Bank: Data catalog

Access data directly via the Databank, or browse the data catalog.

Proquest

Social Sciences Bibliographic Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch

An interdisciplinary full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

Over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Indexed journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in all aspects of the study of language.

Social Science Premium Collection

Provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts; they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.

Sociology Collection

Comprises 3 databases:

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Current research on social work, human services and related areas, incl. social welfare, social policy & community development

Sociological Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences

Sociology Database

Provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts (covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education).

SHARE

SHARE

The Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (SHARE) is a multidisciplinary and cross-national panel database of microdata on health, socio-economic status and social and family networks from 20 European countries (+Israel) aged 50 or older.
The SHARE data can be downloaded from the SHARE Research Data Center or GESIS Data Archive for the Social Sciences under certain conditions.

X-National TS Data

Databanks International:
Cross-National
Time-Series (CNTS)
Data Archive

This longitudinal national dataseries provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for over 200 countries with 196 variables with comprehensive listing of international and national country data facts. General categories include demographic, social, political, and economic topics.
For more information about the dataset go to the publisher's site.

World Press Trends

World Press Trends

WPT Report and Database

The primary and most reliable source of data on the newspaper industry world-wide, covering 233 countries and territories. The report presents vital statistics in an easy-to-use format with a broad overview of the industry as well as detailed analyses of individual markets.

Times Archive

Try searching the Times Digital Archive, an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the major resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785 to 2006. This archive allows researchers an to search and view the newspaper online in its original published context.