It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Law Bod has subscriptions to legal databases to support research in Australian law: for licensing reasons access is limited to current OU students & faculty members. Principal examples can be reached via links below.
To find out which Australian resources Lexis has click Sources. Then click International Content. The screen that then loads is in two parts - the top half is a search screen. The bottom half is a find the source (so the title of the journal not the article)/browse option. The OU subscription to Australian (federal and state) materials includes legislation, law reports & judgment transcripts (unreporteds), Halsbury's Laws of Australia, and some journals.
Alternative names: LNB ; Lexis Nexis Butterworths Lexis Library
Lexis Nexis Butterworths (LNB) includes primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions.
It has particularly good collections of UK cases and in particular includes The Law Reports and The All England Law Reports, as well as many specialist series of reports. It is also a good source of UK legislation as it includes all UK Acts and Statutory Instruments as they currently stand.
LNB is also an excellent source of US primary legal materials and includes a huge amount of legal commentary from the UK and the US.
Lexis content formerly provided via the Lexis Nexis Professional interface is now available via LNB which replaces Professional.
Click the link to Westlaw International which is in the bottom right corner of central panel of Westlaw UK's home page. Australian materials include High Court cases since 1903 and Federal Court cases since 1984 The Law Report collection includes some "unreporteds." Journals Melbourne Journal of International Law, Melbourne University Law Review, Sydney Law Review
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK
Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
Alternative names: Attorney-General's Information Service ; AGIS Plus Text (Informit) ; [Australian] Attorney-General's Information Service
Informit AGIS Plus Text is developed in partnership with the Attorney-General’s Information Service Australia. It is a collection of abstracts and full text articles in comparative and Commonwealth law. Primary focus is on Australian, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific region material. From 1999 selected articles from the United Kingdom, United States and Canada have also been added.
There are some excellent Australian law sites on the free web such as the following:
Free The Legislation Register is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them. (Formerly ComLaw)
JADE "is a free current awareness service and professional legal research platform designed by the legal profession for the legal profession." It is part of BarNet. Registration is free. Australian (commonwealth primary sources & most states and territories) and legal research website. Includes WIPO caselaw.
The current collection of monographs examining Australian law are included in the subject arrangement of commentary on Level 2, in the shelf mark range K - KN. For more information, see the page Law books in this guide.
Printed works which discuss more than one jurisdiction (comparative studies or surveys of law) are in a separate section of the Law Bod with shelf marks starting General, Cw Gen or KB. All these collections are also on Level 2.
The print collection of Australian Law Reports, and Australian Law Journals 2000 to date are on Level 1. Earlier issues of Australian journals are on the Ground Floor. All these forms have shelf marks starting Cw Austral. Cw indicating membership of the Commonwealth of Nations, (For more information about the latter see Commonwealth Secretariat website.)
There are some law reports specific to individual states and territories. These have shelf marks which include abbreviations of the state names eg. Cw Austral NSW 100 for New South Wales Law Reports.
Please ask a librarian for directions when you are in the Law Bod!
SOLO is the online Union catalogue to discover Law Bod's collections:
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout