Skip to main content

Course II: Paper 4: The History of the English Language to c.1800: eBooks & reference

Find eBooks on SOLO

To find ebooks by or about a particular author or topic on SOLO (and excluding electronic articles, book reviews etc.), limit your search to ‘Oxford Collections’ (instead of ‘Search Everything’), and once you’ve done your search, use the filters in the left-hand column to show only Online Resources.

To access ebooks just search for a title in SOLO and click on 'Online access' to read online, or download chapters. Remember to sign in using your SSO first!

 


You may find items with a notice stating Electronic Legal Deposit item - currently unavailable due to closure of the Bodleian Libraries

These items are received through Legal Deposit legislation, which entitles the Bodleian Libraries to receive a copy of every item published in the UK & Ireland.  The Legal Deposit Act 2003 imposes restrictions on these items.  If you urgently require access to a book please use our book recommendation form and the Bodleian will investigate purchasing an e-book for you.

Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library provides full text access to key reference works. The texts are fully searchable and chapters can be read online in html format. You can browse the Linguistics section to find the titles you require or search a particular title or the whole collection.

This title is particularly useful for Paper 1:


Other examples from the collection include:

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to these ebooks)

Useful eBooks

You can find eBooks by searching for the title on SOLO. Our top tip is to also search through the websites of the major eBook providers, such as Oxford Scholarship Online. If you search the websites this allows you to do a search across the full text of all the ebooks at once - rather than just searching by title. This will give you a greater selection of material to read. Some of the biggest eBook providers are listed in the boxes below.

Examples of useful texts we've found for you on SOLO are:

undefined A Social History of English Companion to the History of the English Language undefined
Verbal Hygiene Talking Proper Language and Gender English and the Discourses of Colonialism
The Cambridge History of the English Language Understanding Language Change Language and Identity An Introduction to the Philosophy of Language

 

Oxford Scholarship Online

Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities. These eBooks can all be found by searching SOLO, but you can use the website directly to search across the full text of all the eBooks at once.

English Meaning and Culture The Development of Old English Borrowed Words undefined