Skip to main content

Literature in English 1350-1550: Online Reference Works

Brill's Encyclopedia Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Online is a reference work covering medieval European history, culture, religious and intellectual life, and technology, 400-1500 A.D. Articles are thematically organised and supported by extensive bibliographies. Transnational and interdisciplinary in approach, topics cover current art and architecture, medicine, and law, to archaeology, ecclesiastical history, and languages and literature. This is an English translation of the 2013 update of the well-known German-language “Enzyklopädie des Mittelalters”, which was originally published by Primus Verlag / Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft.

Middle English Compendium

The Middle English Compendium contains three Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.

 

Middle English Dictionary
The world's largest searchable database of Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. An invaluable resource for lexicographers, language scholars, and all scholars in medieval studies.

Bibliography
A description of the authors, works, manuscripts, and editions cited in the Dictionary, the Bibliography also defines the abbreviated forms under which those works are referred to, and provides cross-references to major reference sites to allow further study.